We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely updated” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sentinel

Save Saved
You added Sentinel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sentinel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   614 SW 11th Avenue, Portland, OR 97205 (Formerly The Governor Hotel) (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 132 hotels in Portland
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nicely updated”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel has a rich history, and is in a great location. It has been renovated, and the lobby is much better and more accessbile. Rooms are perfectly lovely, with all the amenities. Teh only downside is a very, very loud bar scene in the area that used to be the reception desk--but it seems just to be a weekend phenomena.

Room Tip: Make sure you are above the second floor, and not on the north side--because the kitchen for Jake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
21
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My husband and I just moved out of the Sentinel Hotel after 3 AMAZING months-- once our home repairs were completed. And looking back.... we have nothing but great memories of our stay there. What a quality team of professionals from top to bottom. Front Office Manager Dave Fry sets the standard high and the whole team delivers, hour after hour... day after day-- with amazing warmth, cheer and always a smile. It's no accident that every aspect of this hotel is top notch! We were unflinchingly treated like royalty, no matter what our request.... along with so many gestures of thoughtfulness before we even thought to ask! We heartily recommend this hotel without the slightest hesitation. It's home away from home at its best!!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I think they just renovated the hotel but I loved the decor. They have these awesome blown up black & white pics in the hallway of old stars. The rooms were super comfortable and pretty spacious. The customer service was great. It's also a great location. Didn't use the car at all when I was there. I had absolutely no issues.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel has been completely refurbished and gives a very trendy vibe. We had a suite on the sixth floor which was fairly large but quirkily shaped and laid out e.g. there was a large window from our seating area out to the common hallway, presumably to get light in from the glass roofed hallway. Fixtures and fittings are high end and tastefully done. Our friends in a different suite did find the A/C loud. Service was friendly and efficient. Valet parking is available but is $36/night. The trendy bar/nightclub "Jacknife" adjoins the lobby and the noise level is disturbing at times in the lobby area. Hotel is two blocks from the trendy Pearl District and kitty corner to a large array of food trucks offering food from around the world.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a hotel in a grand, old building. Obviously it has been brought up to 21st century standards. Four of us stayed here for a long weekend. Three had doubles and one had a suite. The rooms are typical of a high end hotel with nothing particularly outstanding. The suite had an unusual and welcomed feature -- a large window that opens up into the hallway. When needed, there were curtains that could be drawn to provide privacy.

The only drawback I would point out is that, for women, there simply isn't enough space in the bathroom to put all our bottles, jars, brushes, etc. I've never been able to figure out why hotels do this because it would be so simple, especially in a bathroom of this size, to install a narrow counter on the wall that would provide much needed storage space.

The location is ideal. It's within walking distance of the MAX red line light rail that comes in from the airport. There are a couple of streetcar stops behind the hotel. And, best of all, half a block away are dozens of food trucks (they appear to be permanently in place rather than mobile) that offer a nice variety of grab-and-go food.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Priest River, Idaho
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here last week. The hotel was beautiful, with touches of both elegance and modern funky updates, for example a modern colorful picture in our room of John Lennon. Staff was friendly, fun and helpful. Great downtown location; an easy walk to the waterfront. Dinner at Jake's Grill was tasty and the service was excellent! Next time we have a reason to be in Portland, we will definitely be staying here again.

Room Tip: Stayed in 601, beautiful room, but skylights make room very "light" in the morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We usually opt for renting apartments when traveling, but we were only in Portland for one night in July 2014 and we were pleased with our experience at the Sentinel. The historic building is wonderfully grand and the modern updates and furnishings are thoughtful, classy, and hip. The staff were pleasant and courteous, from valet to reception. We especially appreciated that they offered a code for free wifi and upgraded our room from a Deluxe Queen to a Deluxe King -- all hotels should do so when rooms are available. I appreciated that the windows cracked open for a little fresh air; that there was ample shelving space in the bathroom; and the beds were comfortable. The only demerit I'd give is that I would have appreciated having been offered a complimentary bottle of water upon check-in. Instead of getting price-gouged in the mini bar, I walked down the block to the drug store. Would definitely recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sentinel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sentinel

Address: 614 SW 11th Avenue, Portland, OR 97205 (Formerly The Governor Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#4 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#10 Business Hotel in Portland
#20 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sentinel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, TravelClick, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Sentinel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governor Hotel Portland Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sentinel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.