We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Historic Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sentinel Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sentinel Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sentinel Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   614 SW 11th Avenue, Portland, OR 97205 (Formerly The Governor Hotel) (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% Off Room & Free Wifi
Ranked #30 of 132 hotels in Portland
Longview, WA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Historic Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Governor. On our last visit we had a nice sized room. This is an old hotel and some rooms are very small. This is not a problem and part of the charm. The staff is friendly and helpful. It is in a good area of downtown Portland, within walking distance to lots of restaurants and shopping. The bar has these wonderful booths and tables, all dark wood, etc. They have a bar menu which is cheap! And good food for the money...I am talking under $5. (This could just be available on weekends, I'm not sure) . A fun get away destination.

Room Tip: Not sure if there is a pool or spa. I tapped it by mistake trying to rate the rooms and it won't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGM529, General Manager at Sentinel Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Great review and thank you for taking the time to write it. Yes, the Governor is an historic hotel loaded with lots of charm and, to your point, is centrally located within easy walking distance of all that downtown Portland has to offer.

Please consider us again should you find yourself back in Portland. We would love to have you stay with us again.

Regards,

Christopher Bebo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    201
    120
    37
    23
    15
See reviews for
40
187
33
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We come to Portland every summer to get away from the fog in San Francisco. We've stayed at the Governor Hotel's two sister properties, the Lucia and the Deluxe, and this time we chose to stay at the Governor because it's closer to the places we visit most frequently during our vacations (Powell's, the Pearl, and the area around Portland Art Museum). We got the junior suite, which is essentially a large corner room and thought it was the perfect size. The suite has a fireplace (didn't use it since it was warm and sunny), and a large table with comfortable easy chairs. The bathroom was spacious with a nice big window (unlike the tiny bathrooms at the Deluxe and Lucia). The king bed was very comfortable. Most importantly, this hotel seems to attract older guests and it was much quieter in the evening -- even on a Friday night -- than the other two properties owned by this company. We are city dwellers and used to street noise, so the streetcar and food truck sounds were no problem for us. But we loathe being disturbed after midnight by partying guests, and that never happened at the Governor. The rooms seemed much more sound-proof. The hotel is in the midst of a serious renovation, but there wasn't any noise on the fifth floor from the construction work.

We found the staff helpful and attentive, and housekeeping services were great. We will definitely return on our next trip to Portland.

Room Tip: The corner junior suites on upper floors are spacious and well-appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGM529, General Manager at Sentinel Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for your great review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Portland and the Governor Hotel. Also happy to hear that our recent renovations didn't cause you any inconvenience. We worked very hard to ensure no guest impact and I am glad to know you didn't experience any.

I will be sure to pass along your great comments about the staff at the Governor Hotel to the rest of the team. They will be very happy to know that their hard work was noticed and appreciated.

Respectfully,

Christopher Bebo
General Manager - Governor Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Loved this hotel! The look of the hotel & front desk was a great 1st impression. Dave was super friendly & knowledgeable! He was a great source for things to do in Portland.
Perfect downtown location! Service was excellent! Charming rooms. We'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGM529, General Manager at Sentinel Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Great to hear that you enjoyed the personal service you recieved at the Governor Hotel. Portland is such a great town and we take pride in both our city and hotel. Thanks for noticing. Please consider staying with us again on any future trips to Portland.

Regards,

Christopher Bebo
General Manager - Governor Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We just returned from our three night stay at The Governor. First, understand that the entire hotel is being renovated, so expect some workers doing their jobs and some elevators being used to load new furniture, rugs, etc.

The staff was wonderful. The front desk people could not have been nicer. Without asking, we were upgraded to a suite. It was extremely large with a Living Room with pull out bed and a large Bedroom. The bathroom was typical for an older, but high end hotel. It was spotless.

The Hotel is located right in the center of all the action: There were more bars, coffee houses and restaurants than I have ever seen before. Also, the Hotel is across the street from the large location of food trucks (trailers) where every type of food is served. We had Thai food one lunch and it was great.

We had breakfast the last morning in Jake's Grill on the ground floor. It was a beautiful wood paneled room. The food was very good, not exceptional. After all, this IS a hotel. But it was fine.

I must say that our visit could have have been better. I can only imagine how great the hotel is going to be when all the renovations are finished, which will probably be quite soon.

Room Tip: Our room was on the street and, although ear plugs were provided next to the bed, it was not that no...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGM529, General Manager at Sentinel Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
So happy to hear that you found our staff to be both friendly and accomodating. Pleased to know that you enjoyed your complimentary upgrade and thanks for sharing your thoughts on our new renovated rooms.

Please consider staying with us again should you return to Portland. It would be our pleasure to have you again as our guests.

Respectfully,

Christopher Bebo
General Manager - Governor Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Upon check in we were upgraded from a junior suite to a penthouse suite for our 28th anniversary. The valet employees were wonderful about retrieving items from our car and bringing them to our room (twice). Everyone at Jake's Restaurant, which is attached to the hotel, was wonderful, as well as the food and drinks (although a little spendy). The location was good. We spent some time lounging in the lobby reading the complementary newspapers and felt very at home there. The front desk was very attentive to our every need. We were even offered a walking map when we checked in. I would highly recommend The Governor Hotel to anyone staying in downtown Portland!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGM529, General Manager at Sentinel Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Happy belated anniversary and thanks for both your business as well as your thoughtful feedback. Both are truly appreciated. Please consider staying with us again the next time you visit Portland.

Regards,

Christopher Bebo
General Manager - Governor Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The hotel was nice because it was centrally located. The room we had was a bit smaller than regular hotel rooms, but it was adequate for the 2 of us. The bed was very comfortable. We stayed during the weekend, so I assume that's why we didn't have to deal with too much traffic noise. We didn't have a view, but we didn't spend that much time in the room. We did enjoy how close the hotel was to everything. We ended up walking everywhere. If you have a car, you can valet park it, but it can be expensive. There are enough parking spots and lots around the block that if you want to save some money, you are better parking the car yourself. Just make sure you read the signs and/or parking ticket since the hours vary depending on the time and day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGM529, General Manager at Sentinel Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to respond. Our location is ideal, especially if you want or need to be downtown. Aside from the foodcarts, restaurants and museums which are close by, the light rail - or MAX, as we refer to it as - is located directly adjacent to the hotel making getting anywhere in town a snap.

Please consider staying with us again should you ever find yourself back in Portland. We would be honored to have you back as our guest.

Respectfully,

Christopher Bebo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I was on a 2 month long trip, to France, Germany, Finland and Russia and this was the best room of the trip. I had forgotten that I had reserved a junior suite and it was great. A large corner room, with an equally large bathroom. And it had a bathtub, which is a big plus for me. Also had a fireplace with a couple of large comfy chairs. There's a Starbucks attached to the lobby, and a very nice restaurant, (Jake's). Location is good with a streetcar 1/2 block away. Also next to the block of food trucks, with like 30 different types of food, (lunch only) to choose from.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGM529, Guest Relations Manager at Sentinel Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Wow! It sounds like you had quite the adventure! I'm glad that you had the chance to stay at the Governor and that you found your room to be the best of your world wide trip. We enjoy our central location and are glad that you did as well. Next time you visit Portland we look forward to welcoming you again.

Madalyn Freeman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sentinel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sentinel Hotel

Also Known As:
Governor Hotel Portland Oregon
Governor Hotel
Address: 614 SW 11th Avenue, Portland, OR 97205 (Formerly The Governor Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#12 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#34 Business Hotel in Portland
#41 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sentinel Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Venere, Agoda, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Sentinel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sentinel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.