We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Oregon, Very Original” 4 of 5 stars
Review of McMenamins Kennedy School

McMenamins Kennedy School
5736 Northeast 33rd Avenue, Portland, OR 97211
503 249 3983
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 205 Nightlife in Portland
Attraction details
The Woodlands, Texas
Top Contributor
486 reviews 486 reviews
131 attraction reviews
Reviews in 151 cities Reviews in 151 cities
540 helpful votes 540 helpful votes
“Very Oregon, Very Original”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Not inexpensive and very quirky but the kind of place you should go to wander through and look around. Rooms for rent with bathrooms down the hall, huge outside porch with rockers and chairs, scheduled outdoor music, function rooms, a restaurant, a bar but the food was horrid although the restaurant that opens early evening is raved about locally. The place looks like an old school with most of the fixtures still in tact and the pictures, art work and décor is very intriguing. From reading the descriptions, it was a poor house. They have a gift shop but it is lacking in originality and pricy for the area. Worth a trip just to wander around, study the art work, enjoy the gardens and rockers on the porch.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    39
    14
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tempe, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“My favorite pdx local watering hole”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

There is always something going on. I also have stayed overnight very cute chalkboards in the rooms. The theater is a great pdx experience and each bar is its own unique experience

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Parkville, Missouri
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed downtown for the first part of our trip to Portland and after going to Mount Hood and the coast, we returned to Portland and decided to stay in the Northeast part of the city. The Kennedy school was a great choice. They have spent lots of time creating a place that is comfortable but also maintains the integrity of the original school building. We especially enjoyed the soaking pool. We stayed in one of the new rooms in the annex since that was the only availability, however next time we would try the main building, as the rooms are larger. Also this hotel is in a great neighborhood with wonderful restaurants nearby. Try the Grain and Gristle on Prescott.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lots of stuff to do.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The restaurant has really good food, but it's kinda spendy. You do get large portions though, so that makes up for it. The Fish and Chips has some of the biggest pieces of fried fish I've ever seen. There's also a movie theater that uses old-style couches for seating (very comfy) and there's a big heated sitting pool outside. The movies and pool are free for anyone that rents one of the hotel rooms (which used to be class rooms and are themed after writers of children's books). The rooms are cool, but they don't have any TVs or coffee makers, so for the price that's kind of a let down.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
“Good but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I wish they would change the menu to include seasonal fresh ingredients--they are so predictable-salads, burgers, pasta yawn

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McMenamins Kennedy School also viewed

 

Been to McMenamins Kennedy School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McMenamins Kennedy School, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.