We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place, Reasonable Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Produce Row Cafe - CLOSED

Produce Row Cafe
204 SE Oak St, Portland, OR 97214-1018
503-232-8355
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Late Night
Lake Tahoe, NV
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Place, Reasonable Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Had a fun time! Service was spot on, the food was good, and cocktails inventive. Not much of a wine list, but quite an extensive beer list (mostly local, and on tap), and they carried Aviatian Gin (a personal favorite of mine).

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    11
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Cool place with awesome food and great drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

We walked into the restaurant by mistake and were pleasantly surprised. The atmosphere was very inviting and relaxing. Their beer/whiskey pairings are spot on; they also offer a wide array of comfort foods that are very tasty. The servers and bartender are very effective without being rude or overbearing. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great outdoor beer garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

Walk through the restaurant and go outside to their beer garden in the back. If the weather is nice, the experience is perfect. Music is playing in the background, you sit at picnic tables, and the drinks are creative and delicious. We went here just for beer and mixed drinks following dinner at the nearby clarklewis restaurant. We also saw other patrons order giant hamburgers that looked delicious. The atmosphere is laid back and casual. Very hipster, but everyone seems to fit in.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Lunch on the deck!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

Great back deck to go relax with friends after work. Same great sandwiches that Mc Menamins are known for (this being the original one) but also some of it's own creations. Recommend the chili or homemade soups, burger or any of the sandwiches..depending on your tastes & mood.

This is first and foremost a bar - a very very old bar. That also means it can be dark crowded and noisy when it is full. At night it is known for the music, but I'll let others speak to that since I am never there. The french bread rolls that many of the sandwiches come on can be tough and chewy. Parking can be a challenge during the lunch rush. But, I will jump at any excuse to hang out on the back deck during nice weather. Whether for lunch or an after work get together, it is a little haven in the middle of an industrial area.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“I like this place, kinda...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2008

I like this place, kinda hidden, food's on the pretty good side. Sometimes they spontaneously decide to close early, I've been there twice. This happened both times.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Produce Row Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Produce Row Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.