We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome on the Mat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kells Irish Restaurant & Pub

Kells Irish Restaurant & Pub
112 SW 2nd Ave, Portland, OR 97204-3507 (Old Town - Chinatown)
503-227-4057
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #265 of 3,627 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: American, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Old Town - Chinatown
Cross street: Burnside
Transit: 1st and Oak and Skidmore on Max Line
Pewsey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Welcome on the Mat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The atmosphere was warm and friendly. The food: My husband had lamb stew, which was nice but, the portion was neither American non Irish, it was tiny. I had fish and chips, as an Irish woman it was not a particularly Irish dish, and sad to say it was not very good.

Thirney was the entertainment for the night. Singing solo with guitar. He really made me smile as he sang diddley, diddley doo with such determination. I not sure I ever heard that one.

The bar was sight to warm the heart and the whiskey portions were generous.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    99
    29
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Beaver Dam, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great Irish Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My wife and I had a great traditional Irish meal at this restaurant. The Traditional Irish Lamb's Stew and the Shepherd's Pie were great meals at a very affordable price. The Irish Red Beer was a very suitable beverage for the meal. From the time we entered the building to the final have a good evening goodbye, the staff was friendly and very helpful. We would definitely eat there again! If you are looking for a very good casual dining option in downtown Portland, this is the place!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Classic Pub with good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Kells is a classic Irish pub with great food. We enjoyed the dinner and beer selection. We would definitely recommend for a casual dinner.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermiston, Oregon
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

As my friends and I wandered the streets of downtown Portland, we saw a couple of restaurants but there were all full. Fortunately, we stumbled upon Kells. Were we glad we did! Not only did we have great service -- our waitress was hilarious! -- we had an excellent breakfast. The offering of a real Irish breakfast was appealing -- rashers, bangers, eggs, Irish soda bread, etc. -- it was even more delicious in taste. The bangers -- beef and pork sausages for those who aren't into Irish/English/Scottish stuff -- were so tasty, the rashers were cooked to perfection -- they were kind of a cross between Canadian bacon and ham but much better -- the bread was crusty, just like I like it and the hot chocolate with brandy topped off the meal and warded off the cold. It was fantastic!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“irish magic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

actually had a really good time here. most of the guys working there were rude, but one guy was nice and preformed some irish magic for us. you have to check out the irish magic when you visit its pretty amazing and all proceeds go to a good cause.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kells Irish Restaurant & Pub also viewed

 

Been to Kells Irish Restaurant & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kells Irish Restaurant & Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.