We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Central Bakery & Cafe Rises To The Occaision” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Central Bakery & Cafe

Grand Central Bakery & Cafe
1444 NE Weidler St, Portland, OR 97232-1409
503-288-1614
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #154 of 3,629 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Bakery, Vegetarian
Good for: Outdoor seating
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Houston
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Grand Central Bakery & Cafe Rises To The Occaision”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Grand Central is a local gem. They have great space to sit and drink good coffee, use a laptop and eat their pastries and breads. The croissants are extremely excellent as they are authentic, layered, crispy on the outside, soft and chewy and buttery on the inside. I also had the jammer, think jelly on a scone and the Turkish bread, both of which are also excellent. My first clue was the line of 5 people at the door waiting for the 7am opening time. If you are in the Hawthorne neighborhood, this is a solid choice.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    26
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Ahh... the Como”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I give thanks for the bread. Crusty bread. Light and airy bread that has flavor. The kind of bread you get in France, and at Grand Central bakery. What would Portland do without them? (Yeah I know: Let them eat donuts.)

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, United States
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Not a bad pastry in the place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

What a nice place to visit, very clean and very nice staff. The food was great, very simple. It is busy so get their early.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Grand Central Bakery & Cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I am a regular, not so much for the in store limited food offerings, but they simply make the best bread in Portland! Try the Peasant Bread! Reminds me of when I lived in Europe!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Fresh a delicious sandwiches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We love the basil egg salad sandwich. It was so delicious with the olive bread and basil. A must item when visiting for the first time.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Central Bakery & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Grand Central Bakery & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Central Bakery & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.