We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something Different” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Island Cafe

Island Cafe
250 NE Tomahawk Island Dr, Portland, OR 97217-7906
(503) 283-0362
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #294 of 3,687 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Good for: Dining on a budget
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Happy Valley, Oregon
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Something Different”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

The ambience is nautical, you sit right out on the end of a dock surrounded by boats. It is always busy during lunch, but I have never had to wait for a table. Staff is very friendly, food is delivered quickly. Some interesting menu options, but the descriptions are better than the execution. Food is OK, and a little higher priced based on what you'll pay elsewhere for this type of food.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    30
    8
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, OH
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“meh.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Went here on a Friday afternoon. Glad I didn't have to wait too long. The fish and chips looked good. I ordered that and was disappointed. 15 bucks for soggy fish? Seriously? This is Portland, OR people, why the sky high prices for mediocre food? This place seems to be packed with well heeled locals coming in from their motorboats. That would explain the pricey menu.
Great views of the harbor. Food lackluster. I feel ripped off. Longing for some classic fish and chips at Tommy's Diner in Columbus, OH. 7 bucks for outstanding cod fish and chips far superior to Traci's way overpriced soggy "Alaskan Halibut".
Will go somewhere else for a reasonable lunch next time I'm laying over in Jantzen Beach.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Will never go back. Altho the setting was relaxing and the service average, the food at Burger King is FAR superior to this food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Will never go back. Bad recommendation. Waste of money. Very poor food prep, taste and presentation. Noisy because of too many boats. Nice people and the potential to be relaxed but just not a reality at this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“run outdoor restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Hotel recommended this place and we are glad we listened. We got to sit right next to the boat tie up area. Watched the ducks eating any leftovers tossed their way. Happy hour ended at 6pm with several items reduced. We had the half avocado stuffed with shrimp and lobster wraps - very good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“What's not to love?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

A little hard to find, if you haven't been there before, but once you do, you will be back.
Come early or be prepared to wait, there is often a sign up sheet. But it could be a lot worse, on a nice day the water, the boats, the kind people, what's not to love?
The atmosphere is huge! sitting on a deck with the sky above, ducks in the water (and sometimes between your tables), boats going by and friendly people dining and serving. Then comes the food, a good selection and some surprising options. We often visit in the summer when in Portland, and have for many years. If you have a boat you may tie up dockside, though space is limited. Well worth the walk from the parking lot, and plenty to see if you have to wait, which is a usual occurence.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Island Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.