We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth returning to...institutional and unremarkable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Milo's City Cafe

Milo's City Cafe
1325 NE Broadway St, Portland, OR 97232-1235
503-288-6456
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #106 of 3,629 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Not worth returning to...institutional and unremarkable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We went here based on the reviews in TA and were surprised by the great feedback they have received.

This place was nothing to get excited about.

I had a prawn curry special which was more spicy than flavorful and my wife had a risotto with shrimp that she described as "institutional." The Caesar salad lacked any flavor.

On a positive side, the mushroom soup was very good as well as the bread...but BE WARNED...if you ask for more bread, they'll charge you for it. We were NOT advised this by our server....a surprise on our bill.

Speaking of our server, she was average...at best. She rattled the specials off way too fast, slow on requests and didn't advise us of the extra bread charge. The pinnacle of her below average service was when she delivered the bill and took my credit card while our table was still full of dirty dishes. Both of us were servers in previous lives and we know this is not cool!

We're new to Portland and are enjoying trying different places to eat...unfortunately this one didn't make the cut for a return visit.

By the way, the clientele was solidly in their 50's and 60's, which we are not. Not a young energetic place and no kids menu.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    45
    13
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, USA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“All that and more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

What's not to like about fabulous food and service! We all ordered something a little different but everyone at our table agreed that this was a scrumptious breakfast.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not bad, but not as good as expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Food was pretty good -- no sign of the "butter sauce" on the butternut squash ravioli, and my companion had to ask for dressing on the salad. The bread was fantastic. Service brought my rating down from "very good" to "average". When the server finally arrived, we asked to order our food since we didn't want any drinks, and she insisted on taking a "drink order". Then she apologized for the delay because of the "rush". There was no sign of a rush; most of the tables were full but they were all happily eating. Whatever.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

The food, wine, and service helped us enjoy an excellent dinner for our 58th wedding anniversary. It is a great neighborhood
café with a caring and competent staff.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, USA
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Nice comfortable neighborhood restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The food here is quite satisfying, although not cutting-edge creative nor super gourmet. The menu is eclectic: pasta, steak, seafood, some Italian dishes, some Pacific Northwest dishes, and a few more miscellaneous items such as pulled pork, Greek salad, etc. Everything from the appetizer to dessert was good, and the service was excellent. It's not the type of place you'd drive all the way across town to eat at, but if you're nearby it's a worthwhile destination. Wide range of dishes, some more casual such as sandwiches and fish and chips and some fancier. Pleasant atmosphere. I live nearby; there are a lot of restaurants in the immediate area but this is one that I will return to.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Milo's City Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Milo's City Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milo's City Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.