We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still consistently good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mother's Bistro & Bar

Mother's Bistro & Bar
212 SW Stark St, Portland, OR 97204-2603 (Downtown)
503-464-1122
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 3,541 restaurants in Portland
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: American, Dessert, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Downtown
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
525 helpful votes 525 helpful votes
“Still consistently good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

When I lived in Portland, I'd make Mother's a work-week breakfast stop. I've been gone for seven years now, and when I was visiting family/friends for New Years, I made a breakfast stop and was pleased to see that they haven't changed much (except for higher prices).
This review is only for breakfast, but I've been told their lunch an dinner menu is excellent.

The vibe is homey and welcoming. The food is like mom’s cooking, only a better.

My favorite breakfast choice is their Migas. Thankfully, they still had it on their menu: eggs, corn tortillas, jack cheese, onions & peppers, scrambled together,
topped with chipotle sour cream, salsa & green onions. The corn tortilla seemed soggy this time, but the flavor is still to die for. Great coffee, too.

So stop by for a great meal. They "make everything from scratch, using the best possible ingredients Pacific Northwest wild salmon, Carlton Farms pork, Painted Hills beef and the finest European-style butter in everything we cook and bake."

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    531
    227
    70
    20
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“This is Portland "food scene" at it's best.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This is a must visit when in Portland, We go several times a year and have never been disappointed. Not sure whether we prefer breakfast or lunch but a bloody mary and either is great.

The food is fresh, hot and served as it should be. The quality of the ingredients jump out as soon as your first bite hits your mouth and stays there until the last.

It is well worth the wait.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Mother Bistro is the the day time restaurant counter to Mama Tora. The menu has a bit of a Jewish/Greek theme to it, but they have regular items like burgers, but they have a twist to them.

We had breakfast for lunch, it was very good. They serve a excellent cup of coffee there as well. The servers were helpful and pleasant. I have been before and had to wait a long time for a table over the noon hour (very crowded), but today the wait was less than 5 mins.

This is a nice place to hit up if you are downtown, but I don't wouldn't specifically drive into downtown just to eat here. Don't get me wrong, I am recommending it, the food and service was worth the visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“cute restaurant, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

we went here for breakfast under some recommendations and it was not disappointing. fresh squeezed juice was yum. and they had really good biscuits and gravy, i was surprised that these northerners could make it right. :P

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“This was an alright breakfast.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I had breakfast here yesterday morning. I choose the place because the review and also most importantly pictures that showed a very nicely decorated space. When we walking in however, we were guided to a different dinning room that looked very casual, I was a bit disappointed coz I wanted to have breakfast in the main space, which was very, very nice.
Breakfast in itself wasn't something to remember and at the end neither my wife nor i had that "We've got to comeback here" feeling.
I had the frittata, which was alright and my wife had the Mikes' special, both were very good serving and we couldn't even finish it, but again, we weren't left with that special Wow feeling.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mother's Bistro & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Mother's Bistro & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mother's Bistro & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.