We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best breakfast in portland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mother's Bistro & Bar

Mother's Bistro & Bar
212 SW Stark St, Portland, OR 97204-2603 (Downtown)
503-464-1122
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 3,621 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: American, Dessert, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Downtown
st louis,mo
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“best breakfast in portland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Don't be put off by the wait. It goes quickly and you can have coffee while waiting. The menu is awesome. the owner and chef Lisa could be more on top of the place. Food was outstanding. We will go back for dinner on our next visi

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    638
    280
    91
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food but a few service issues.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The restaurant is really nice, good atmosphere. I loved the decor and my stuffed frittata was delicious! My friend also thoroughly enjoyed his breakfast. BUT he was very upset about the following two things: 1) the waiters kept bumping into his chair when moving between the tables (it was a relatively close space but there were other routes the servers could have used) and 2) they presented us with our bill before we finished eating (and no, there wasn't a line of people waiting for tables). The thing was, everyone was really friendly, but it made us feel rushed, like they wanted us to leave...and it wasn't just us. They did the same to 4 tables.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing! But get there early!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The food was spectacular but make sure you get there early. We were a party of 2 and it took 45 minutes to get a seat at brunch on a Saturday.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants in Portland..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This restaurant is consistently wonderful. The food is excellent whether is be breakfast, brunch or dinner. If you can manage to visit Mother's on a dry day, a nice walk around downtown Portland is a great way to walk off a few calories.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We waited quite a long time for a table but it was worth every minute of it. I can not say enough about the food at Mothers. The service was especially prompt considering the wait was 45 minutes. Although the restraunt was packed we still were able to get our order in and served in short order. Don't miss Mothers the next time you are in downtown Portland.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mother's Bistro & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Mother's Bistro & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mother's Bistro & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.