We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views and choices for Eating” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Portland City Grill

Portland City Grill
111 SW 5th Ave, 30th Floor Bancorp Tower, Portland, OR 97204-3604 (Downtown)
503 450 0030
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Portland City Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #34 of 3,617 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Steakhouse, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Burnside
Transit: Public transportation is available via Max Transit system and Tri-Met.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great views and choices for Eating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stumbled upon this place by accident. It said Portland City Grill on the front of the building and when we went into the lobby it was under construction. Luckily, an employee came in and told us the restaurant was on the 30th floor! There were two choices - either the buffet (it was a Sunday) for $40 per person or the bar with a great bar menu. We chose the bar. We always love to see the city we are in from above and our waiter was our guide. He pointed out so much. Food was great and we would do it again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa D, Manager at Portland City Grill, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
We are so glad you found us and were able to enjoy the bar on a Sunday afternoon. Thank you for sharing your experience and we hope to have you here again soon.

Cheers,
PCG Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    457
    297
    102
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food and spectacular views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

What a great meal to enjoy with customers. Share the Kung Pao Calamari as an appetizer, it is spectacular. I have had seafood but the last time I had a steak and it was incredible. The views of the City are spectacular. I highly recommend the Portland City Grill when visiting Portland.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good for Late Drinks & Snack”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Got in late from my flight and went here for late night drinks with my girlfriends and snacks. The calamari was out of this world - a must eat. The wine was pretty pricey. The views are spectacular. Great for a quick bite and drink and to see the entire city of Portland and beyond.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Great food with a great view.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Make sure you have reservations as this place is always crowded. It has an extensive wine list, great food & at the 30th floor, the view was spectacular!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, CT
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Service hiccup but very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We took a chance on the Portland City Grill without reservations and were seated on a Thursday night in about 10 minutes. Nobody came to our table for about 15 minutes then a waiter took our drink order and gave us menu's and stated he wasn't our waiter but ours was busy. No problem. About 20 minutes after that another waiter came over and took our orders, turns out he wasn't our waiter either. In between our apps and entrees the manager came over to apologize for the poor service and comped our drinks and apps (note we had not complained at all to anyone) bringing our actual waiter with him who also apologized profusely. We said no problem, thanks for the apps. When we asked for the check they ended up comping the entire thing. Again, we never complained. We understand that things don't always go smoothly and were impressed with the reaction of the restaurant preferring to keep our potential business instead of making a profit from us that night. Bottom line, their reaction kept our business and we would not hesitate to go back. Oh, and the food was excellent.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portland City Grill also viewed

 

Been to Portland City Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portland City Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.