We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great grilled beef!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Portland City Grill

Portland City Grill
111 SW 5th Ave, 30th Floor Bancorp Tower, Portland, OR 97204-3604 (Downtown)
503 450 0030
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Portland City Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 3,540 restaurants in Portland
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Steakhouse, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Burnside
Transit: Public transportation is available via Max Transit system and Tri-Met.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great grilled beef!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I lived in the Oregon area some months from January through April 2006. When needed to have meat either I sneaked into local people weekend parties or I pushed my business partners to arrange business meeting out there. Btw great beef!!! And do not forget to book a table by the big windows, there s a wonderful view of the Portland downtown skyline!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    395
    246
    79
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairbanks, Alaska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The Portland City Grill is awesome.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The Portland City Grill is relaxing with wonderful drinks and superb food. I had the filet mignon cooked to perfection. My husband had the NY steak also cooked perfectly. Make reservations so a table by the window is available. It was so enjoyable seeing the city go from dusk to City Lights while enjoying our drinks & appetizers.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

I loved the ambience, with the dark-lit lounge and contemporary style. The view is breath-taking at night, so don't settle for anything but a "window seat." The calamari was delicious. It's definitely one of my top favorites in Portland, and I can't wait to go again. :)

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“FOOD +VIEW, OH MY!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This restaurant, located at the top of this very tall building, has a fabulous view of downtown Portland. The lounge has a great happy hour every day with great drinks and apps and a lively, sophisticated bar crowd. Move over to the atmospheric dining room where the menu is classic American from rack of lamb, to rib eye steak, to crab cakes, salmon, etc. The food is beautifully prepared and worthy of the prices that are on the high side. The Portland City Grill has the winning combination.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phx
1 review
“Great service, food and prices!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This was only our second time going here for happy hour. Be advised...it is packed during happy hour! But share a table with strangers, or hang out waiting for one. Either way, it is worth it! Our server, Chaney, was taking care of a Ron of folks but made time to chat and make you feel like you were her only table. Even the busboys (nasty word, I know) hustle And are sooo friendly. We had the filet and fries, and Kung Poa calamari....both, on happy hour, we're amazing! You do need to try this place!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portland City Grill also viewed

 

Been to Portland City Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portland City Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.