We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food, wonderful view.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Portland City Grill

Portland City Grill
111 SW 5th Ave, 30th Floor Bancorp Tower, Portland, OR 97204-3604 (Downtown)
503 450 0030
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Portland City Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 3,539 restaurants in Portland
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Steakhouse, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Burnside
Transit: Public transportation is available via Max Transit system and Tri-Met.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, wonderful view.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

The food was excellent, the service was great, the view was phenomenal. I would highly recommend this restaurant for someone not in Portland often, the view is one of a kind!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    394
    246
    79
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Food View Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Not Handicap accessible. I took my father there who has no feet and wears prosthetics. I asked if there was a place he could sit while we waited for a table. They made no efforts to accommodate saying it would only be a few more minutes. It was altogether a 40 minute wait. Then we were sat at a table a couple of feet from the kitchen door where it was bottlenecked and the wait staff brushed passed and couldn't help brush our arms as it was tucked in way too tight. The wait staff said they didn't normally use that table. Although the food and view were great, the experience left me with unpleasant feelings. Won't go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tifton, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Vacation 2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

First timers to Portland. The Portland City Grill has beautiful views of downtown, great service and the steaks were some of the best I've had anywhere. The wine list includes great local selections.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“This Restaurant is Exceptional!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Located in downtown Portland, this restaurant was a little hard to find - mainly because it is located on the top floor of an office tower. The view was incredible as was the food. We went for lunch. Everything we ordered from the salmon to the salads to the sandwiches were exquisite. When we were there this summer, the restaurant had a special that enabled you to sample from the wine menu at just $5 a glass! If ever in Portland again, we would most definitely return!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The View From the Top”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

One evening, I was looking for a place in downtown Portland to grab a drink. The Portland City Grill was suggested to me. I decided to try it and made my way towards the tall, but otherwise nondescript, office building that houses the Grill. Located on the building’s 30th floor, the restaurant offers panoramic views of the city and the surrounding waterfront.

When I visited, it was early evening and the space was completely packed. The low-lit bar area features a fairly small bar ringed with a number of small banquettes bordering the windows. The bar menu features a number of beverages and a small number of food options, all relatively affordable. While the drinks were decent, the draw for this restaurant is most definitely the views. A wait for one of the highly-prized tables is a near inevitability at the Grill’s busier times.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portland City Grill also viewed

 

Been to Portland City Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portland City Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.