We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good fish combination dishes presented in special occasion fashion with incredible views of the Columbia River.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Salty's On The Columbia River

Salty's On The Columbia River
3839 NE Marine Dr, Portland, OR 97211-2129
+1 503-288-4444
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Salty's On The Columbia River is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #148 of 3,621 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $21 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Airport, James Gleason Boat Ramp
Description: The best seafood and steak restaurant in Portland isn't downtown, it's on the Columbia River.
Astoria oregon
Top Contributor
945 reviews 945 reviews
580 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 156 cities Reviews in 156 cities
404 helpful votes 404 helpful votes
“Very good fish combination dishes presented in special occasion fashion with incredible views of the Columbia River.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

This is not just food, and busy as they are they know how to serve their customers. The prices reflect all this. This is a special place for special occasions such as this warm summer evening that brought many diners out. Our waiter was helpful making recommendations and aspiring to serve us with what he really thought would please us.
Return? Yes.
Recommend? Yes.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    138
    59
    32
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
seattle, wa
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Come Here for the View”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

The View is splendid and the service is great. Wish the food was better- in our case, we had the italian crusted halibut- loved it, and the large shellfish appetizer which was ok, but marred by less than fresh dungeness and snow crab. Being a northwestern native, and accustomed to fresh dungeness (the best crab in the world) this was old, texture was poor, and overly salty. The oysters were good, ceviche was good, the prawns were good but the crab really marred the experience for me.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Arkansas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great patio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Great place to enjoy good beer and wine with a fabulous view of the Columbia. I Come hear on every visit to Portland. Did I mention the food is really good?

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I visited this restaurant twice while I was in Portland and was not disappointed either time. I had Salmon one time ahd Halibut the other. There are no words to describe the white chocolate mousse cake. It was fabulous. The wait staff was excellent and the restaurant couldn't have a more pleasant setting. You can see the Columbia River from any seat in the house.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Food was good but WAY too expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We ordered 2 beers, 2 fish tacos, 3 coconut shirmps, and a bowl of seafood chowder and the bill was close to $35 before tip. We left there hungry and I was in a very bad mood that we paid that much money and all I had was 1 taco and 1 shrimp. The food was very good, but too much for the amount we received. We then went to Walmart to get some ice cream so we wouldn't go to bed hungry. If you want to eat there, make sure you go before 6 pm so you can get the Happy hour prices on the appetizers.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salty's On The Columbia River also viewed

 

Been to Salty's On The Columbia River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salty's On The Columbia River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.