We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beat All-around Seafood Restaurant in Portland” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Salty's On The Columbia River

Salty's On The Columbia River
3839 NE Marine Dr, Portland, OR 97211-2129
+1 503-288-4444
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Salty's On The Columbia River is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #123 of 3,282 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $21 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Doing business, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Airport, James Gleason Boat Ramp
Description: The best seafood and steak restaurant in Portland isn't downtown, it's on the Columbia River.
Independence, Oregon, USA
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Beat All-around Seafood Restaurant in Portland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Salty's is a classic on-the-water deck view seafood establishment with a great atmosphere, excellent staff, and tasty food. We often bring out-of-town guests (if the weather cooperates) since the deck offers a unique vantage and the food pleases all.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    153
    62
    35
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“a little dissappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

we came on a monday for lunch with our three young kids, taking a break from boat shopping. and while the atmosphere and service were nice, the food was a little lacking.
the oysters in a half shell, shrimp cocktail and kid's meals were the best. but the clam showder was thick, lukewarm and quagulated (sp?). i sent the philly sandwich back because the cheese sauce over it was cold and disgusting like cheese whiz. my husband got the ciopino, which they served with crab utensils and no actual crab in the soup!
perhaps dinner or brunch without kids will be better next time, but not for awhile.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delavan, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Over-priced but good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

My husband wanted to eat crab while we were in Portland and this seemed the logical place, based on reviews. I felt it was a bit pricey but the food was delicious and there was a nice selection of local brews and wines. We had an enjoyable evening here.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Wonderful View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Love their brunch. Their chef's whip up great omelets, slice up some scrumptious ham and we always have mimosa's. A little on the spend side, but always good meal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camas, Washington
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This was my first visit and had a great experience. The view, the food, the service, the ambiance, all great. Definitely on the fancy end price wise, but a good experience. Kids meals are a great deal. Basically come happy, leave happier. The only improvement I could think of would be the exterior look and the parking lot. Would love to try brunch some time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salty's On The Columbia River also viewed

 

Been to Salty's On The Columbia River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salty's On The Columbia River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.