We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's close to work” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Szechuan Chef

Szechuan Chef
5331 SW Macadam Ave. #115, Portland, OR 97239 (Formerly Shanghai Noble House Restaurant)
(503) 227-3136
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,313 of 3,621 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Chinese
Description: Located in the beautiful city of Portland, our restaurant has been dedicated to offering the most memorable dining experience for you. We pick ingredients carefully and use only the freshest and natural food to prepare every dish. We try to cook in a healthier way to provide the most nutritious cuisine. Much attention has been attached to ensure you a cozy and inviting ambiance where you could enjoy not only the great meal but also the authentic atmosphere.
Restaurant details
Description: Located in the beautiful city of Portland, our restaurant has been dedicated to offering the most memorable dining experience for you. We pick ingredients carefully and use only the freshest and natural food to prepare every dish. We try to cook in a healthier way to provide the most nutritious cuisine. Much attention has been attached to ensure you a cozy and inviting ambiance where you could enjoy not only the great meal but also the authentic atmosphere.
Eugene, Oregon
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“It's close to work”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

There aren't many restaurants near my office but we will occasionally order lunch from these folks.

The food is meh but the cost is reasonable. It fills the voic.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    6
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Chicken tastes old”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stopped in about 1:30pm for some lunch. Only one other table was occupied and for some reason they stuck me at a 2 seat table in the middle of the restaurant away from any window or view. The chicken tasted old and was way too sweet when I was expecting spicy. Not a fan. Will not return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Looking for Authentic Chinese?... Look Elsewhere.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The Noble House Chinese restaurant which used to be called the Mandarin Cove Chinese restaurant, is now called the Szechuan Chef restaurant. Same phone number since the beginning of time indicates the same management.

If you are wondering why the name has changed so many times, its because they still don't know how to cook a Chinese dish. The food is not good at all. We can cook a better, more authentic Chinese dish using Trader Joes Orange Chicken in a Bag.

Go Elsewhere!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy, California
Top Contributor
337 reviews 337 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“Busy because it is good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

We always enjoy the Noble House. It is good for family as well as for a date or business lunch. Menu is Chinese (obviously) but it has good variety.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“A survivor ... and for good reason”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Shanghai Noble House is one of two surviving restaurants in what used to be a thriving shopping and dining complex: Portland's Water Tower. They're still prospering because their food is tasty and they have great spaces for large groups. Their service is also very good. Groups can do a family style pre-ordained meal which covers soup, appetizer and several entres all for $8.50 -- a great deal.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Szechuan Chef also viewed

 

Been to Szechuan Chef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Szechuan Chef, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.