We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A new low” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Dan and Louis Oyster Bar

Dan and Louis Oyster Bar
208 SW Ankeny St, Portland, OR 97204-2707 (Old Town - Chinatown)
503-227-5906
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #885 of 3,629 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Old Town - Chinatown
Portland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A new low”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The service is always slow at this place, but the weekend before last they hit a new low! We had a yen for steamers and decided to try it for lunch despite mediocre results in the past. NEVER AGAIN! There were very few customers there when we arrived. Nevertheless it took the better part of 15 minutes for our waiter to acknowledge our presence. Drinks were slow in coming, and his return to take our order was even slower. We ordered - mostly steamers. Then 15 minutes later he returned to inform us that they had not received any steamers that day. We should have known to leave, but were hungry and changed our orders. 30-40 minutes later the food had still not arrived. Fuming, I told the waiter from hell to cancel our food order and bring the check. At that point he went to the kitchen and instantly brought out our food - which was lousey!
NEVER order the Shrimp/Crab "Stew"! It is overpriced drool! A lukewarm broth, mine had exactly ONE small shrimp and a few tiny bits of crab, and nothing else. This place may have been good once, but no more. Go around the corner to the Thirsty Lion or Kells instead.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    67
    27
    25
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Valley Heights, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Had a beer, liked the atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Dropped in for a beer, loved the friendliness and the nook and cranny layout. Bumped into a conference party who were also having a pre-dinner refresher - they were dining. Said it was one of the best eating spots in the district. Shame I am not big on seafood.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McMinnville, Oregon
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Not bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

They have decent drinks, food is pretty good but prices a little on the high side. All in all, not bad.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldport
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Totally Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My friend and I had read about this restaurant previously so we decided to give it a try. I am sorry to say our lunch experience was a complete "bust".

I could hardly wait to try the Scallops. I ordered the 1/2 size at $12.95. My plate came and there were 2 scallops, a handful of limp salad greens without another ingredient added to them, and some french fries. I asked the waitress about the 2 scallops thinking maybe it was a mistake? She told me that their food is weighed and they both added up to 6 oz. They were both pretty small, so not sure about the weight being accurate. I live on the Oregon Coast and we know good sized scallops....lol.....these were just regular size, nothing fancy. So who comes to lunch expecting such small portions? The salad was nothing, the fries okay and I left paying $12.95 plus additional tip. I also left still hungry.

They may have better options, but this I will never know as I won't ever be going back. To anyone who wants to eat there, I would say you might want to try another place where you actually get some food. If you do eat there, I would suggest you don't order the Scallops unless you are on a strict diet and don't mind totally overpaying for what you get.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, Virginia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
238 helpful votes 238 helpful votes
“Smoked Salmon Chowder - Yum, Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We ate at Dan and Louis Oyster Bar while visiting the Saturday Market in downtown Portland. Its a great old bar that is stuck in behind the Thirsty Lion Pub and Grill. We happened on it by chance after seeing the line around the block to get into Voodoo Donuts. It was lunchtime and we didn't get any donuts, but I had the best fish tacos ever and an amazingly tasty smoked salmon chowder. I would go back just for another bowl of that chowder! I think everybody else's food was good too, but I was so focused on the chowder that I can't remember.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dan and Louis Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Been to Dan and Louis Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dan and Louis Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.