We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memory Lane...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dan and Louis Oyster Bar

Dan and Louis Oyster Bar
208 SW Ankeny St, Portland, OR 97204-2707 (Old Town - Chinatown)
503-227-5906
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #915 of 3,282 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Families with children, Doing business, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Old Town - Chinatown
Holladay, Utah
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Memory Lane...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I first came to Dan and Louis' in 1952 - I was nine years old. The place hasn't changed at all except for the oyster shucking room that has now been renovated for some other use. The Oyster stew has always been a highlight and I would recommend it as the best anywhere. Service is excellent (Thanks, Leann!). I wouldn't go for the fried food - it's not so good. French fries are fresh and good. Crab and shrimp salads are tops. A big thumbs up to the owners for keeping this classic place, well... classic!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    70
    30
    27
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Really love this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I love oysters and pinot, so every time I visit Portland I try to eat here. Truth be told, some of the food is good but not great, and everything is overpriced, but I love this place -- the oysters are really fresh, the wine list is really good, and I always enjoy the experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrobobrad
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't believe the menu”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Good service and nice atmosphere. I don't recommend the food though. They advertise on the menu that you will get oyster(S) and scallops(S) and prawn(S) for $23. If you like getting what you pay for then DON'T Come here. Pay for a lot of seafood and get a pathetic dish with a boat-load of fries to make up the difference...maybe.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Come for a drink and a wander, avoid the food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This restaurant has apparently been in business in downtown Portland since the early 1900s. We ate outside at a picnic table in the bricked alley way. Until I got lost on the way to the washroom and had a gander at all the interior sea going memorabilia in the three or four large rooms made up to look like the interior of a ship, I was really at a loss for the draw. The crab cakes my husband had were so unmemorable a day later that he still isn't entirely sure that's what he ate. My little pan fried oysters were memorable to me because I was so disappointed. They were crusted in something that tasted grey. The tarter sauce was equally paste-like. The sides of coleslaw and caesar salad that I chose were also lacking in any spark of flavour. I wasn't upset when it started to sprinkle and we decided to hurry away.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isleton, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Oyster heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stopped in just for Oysters and we were very happy with the freshness and quality. The clam chowder was also very good. We had a crab and shrimp cocktail and felt a little ripped off because they charged us $14 and we got about 1/8 cup of crab and 1/8 cup of shrimp. they filled the bottom of the bowl with lettuce so it looked like there was more than there actually was. Other than that the only other negative thing I can say is the place is very out dated. It is dark and dinghy and really is in need of a good make over. I know it is like the oldest restaurant in Portland but that is no reason to keep it looking like it does. You can remodel and still keep it looking like a restaurant from the early 1900.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dan and Louis Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Been to Dan and Louis Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dan and Louis Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.