We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful service and mediocre food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Jake's Famous Crawfish

Jake's Famous Crawfish
401 SW 12th Ave, Portland, OR 97205-2303 (Downtown)
503-226-1419
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Jake's Famous Crawfish is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #40 of 3,282 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business, Entertaining clients, Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: SW Stark
Transit: Light Rail: Stops @SW 10th ave/Galleria. Walk 2 blocks up to 12th Ave, take a right and come 3 blocks down to SW Stark St. Trolly: Heading North; Trolly stops at 10th Ave & SW Stark St, walk 2 blocks up Stark Street. Heading South; Trolly stops at 11th Ave and Washington, walk 1 block up to 12th Ave turn right and come 1 block down Stark St.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awful service and mediocre food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I went to Jake's Crawfish to celebrate family visiting from out of town. We were seated in the section of one of the most awful servers I have had the displeasure of being waited on in quite some time. She was rude, short, and condescending. One relative has a medical diet and when asked, for example, if an item had dairy, the server replied "I can't imagine it does" rather than checking to be sure.

As for the food:
Appetizer: The mussels in white wine and butter were delicious and among the best I've had in recent memory.
Entree: The bouillabaisse contained clams, mussels, salmon, shrimp, and crab legs in a healthy serving of broth with a side of garlic parmigiana bread. (The server brought this to one of the people with a dairy allergy after stating she couldn't imagine it had dairy)
Dessert: Due to the long wait and poor service which ruined the meal we opted to skip dessert and go elsewhere.

I would recommend this restaurant to those without dietary restrictions and especially for businessmen. It is a very expensive meal and one where you would expect excellent service. Unfortunately on this visit, the restaurant failed miserably in the service department and barely delivered in the food department.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    551
    334
    123
    41
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Oregon
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Lousy Service and Mediocre Food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Three of us had dinner at Jakes Famous tonight. First of all the room they tried to seat us in was frigid. We refused to sit in the room. They moved us to a different room which was better. However, our server was one of the worst any of us have had in years. She was totally inattentive, only refilled our water glasses if we flagged her down and asked for water, and we waited for over 10 minutes to find her to get our bill (finally having to ask the hostess to get her for us). We have food allergies/intolerances and when she took our order she seemed almost condescending to us. We asked that she ask the kitchen to broil a piece of halibut but put no garlic or onions or dairy on it, but to use spices and herbs and salt and pepper. The fish was served "naked," no seasoning at all. I told her I don't use dairy and she brought bread with cheese on it.

The rest of the food was decent. Not great. Not bad. If ou have no food issues and don't get the server we got you might have a good meal there. We didn't.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Best in Portland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Every time I come to Portland I try to stop here to eat , if you like seafood this is your place , EVERYTHiNG is great , service is top notch but save room for dessert .they have a chef who only does desserts . They even have two different sizes of some desserts . They have a good happy hour menu and street cafe style seating . If not hungry it is a great place to get a drink and small appetizer .

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Don't miss it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

It's a bit expensive (being one of the best seafood restaurants in the world, it's said), but the food and service are really outstanding.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Mother's Day...FUN!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

My husband and I accompanied by my daughter enjoyed a great Mother's Day brunch at Jake's Famous Crawfish. I had the Quiche Lorraine, my daughter had the Brioche French Toast and my husband had a Seafood egg dish. Everything was delicious including the sweet breads served before the meal.

The service was impeccable, the restaurant's decor was reminiscent of old school seafood restaurants on the East Coast...even the staff's uniforms and wall decor was very NYCish...all in all, it made for a really FUN Mother's Day experience at one of Portland's most respected establishments.

We will definitely return!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jake's Famous Crawfish also viewed

 

Been to Jake's Famous Crawfish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jake's Famous Crawfish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.