We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty seafood but rushed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Southpark

Southpark
901 SW Salmon St, Portland, OR 97205 (Downtown)
(503) 326-1300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #81 of 3,282 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $17 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: SW 9th Ave
Transit: Pioneer Court House Square (from yellow/green/blue/red lines)
Description: Southpark, a contemporary seafood restaurant in Portland, Oregon, is inspired by the amazing farmers, fishers and winemakers of the region. Located in the heart of Portland’s Cultural District, Southpark is the window into Portland’s arts and entertainment where guests can relax in the dining room, wine bar or outdoor dining while taking in the vibrant energy of downtown. Fresh fish and naturally raised beef, pork and oysters from the northwest are showcased every day. Southpark also offers a wine experience unlike any other in Portland with an award winning wine list and comfortable yet sophisticated wine bar.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Tasty seafood but rushed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Coming from Colorado we don't get the opportunity for really fresh fish so thought we would take the chance to have some whilst visiting Portland recently. We were seated promptly when we arrived, the restaurant was busy for a Thursday night which was a good sign. Our table was near one of the prep stations so there was a lot of traffic passing by. Whilst the food was all that we had hoped it would be - crab fritters, clam chowder, lobster tortellini, albacore tuna - I felt rushed. As soon as our appetizers plates were cleared away the entrée was in front of us. In total from the time we sat down to the payment of the bill was 45 mins - not exactly conducive to a romantic dinner!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason G, General Manager at Southpark, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Hi Jane!
Thank you for your review and for letting us know about your experience. I am so sorry to hear you felt rushed, each guest should be given the experience they are looking for - whether it be a slow romantic dinner or a quick meal before a show. There is no excuse for us to not give you the experience you were looking for, please accept our apologies. However, the Chef and I are ecstatic to hear how much you enjoyed the food.
Thanks again for your feedback,
Jason - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    131
    34
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

My hotel concierge recommended this upon my arrival in Portland as my room was not ready yet and it was lunchtime. Was exhausted from traveling all day and very hungary. South Park did not disappoint. It was a beautiful warm day and the sliding windows out front were pulled open so I was able to sit in the bar area but still had the nice outdoor breeze. Ordered a glass of white wine and had the fish and chips. Very tasty...the batter was light and crisp, not too heavy or soaked in grease. The fries were thin and golden and seasoned perfectly. My waiter was so kind and made me feel very welcome. Beautiful and spacious bar area. Highly recommend Southpark.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason G, General Manager at Southpark, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thanks for joining us during your stay in Portland!
Hope to see you next time you are in town.
Jason - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“An absolute gem of a place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

This place was across the road from our apt in Portland we had many drinks and snacks during Happy Hour. The staff were friendly, knowledgeable and efficient. The food was simply terrific some of the best we had in Portland. If you are visiting go!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason G, General Manager at Southpark, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you for the great review! We are so happy to hear we could care for you on your holiday to Portland. Thanks for joining us!
Cheers,
Jason - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Great happy hour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

We stopped in to rest our feet and have a drink at the bar, it was such a warm and friendly place we came back a second time and ate at the bar. Friendly bartenders (Dave on our first visit and Will on our second), friendly locals and a terrific happy hour menu. We did the Pinot flight and it was very enjoyable as Will was very knowledgable. We were enjoying ourselves so much we stayed much longer than we planned and ended up eating dinner at the bar as well.

The mark of a great place is that you want to come back and find it even more enjoyable the second time.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason G, General Manager at Southpark, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thanks for the great review!
Will and Dave are so happy to have been a part of your trip to Portland.
Thanks again,
Jason - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Everything including the break was oversalted”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Avoid this restaurant if you are on a restricted sodium diet. Even the break is way too salty. I had the scallop fettuccine and was not able to finish it due to saltiness. The wine was the best part of the meal.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason G, General Manager at Southpark, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
We are so sorry to hear the seasoning was so overpowering. As you can see by so many other reviews, our house made bread is typically a favorite!
Thanks for the feedback,
Jason - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Southpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southpark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.