We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local food great pork belly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Southpark

Southpark
901 SW Salmon St, Portland, OR 97205 (Downtown)
(503) 326-1300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #99 of 3,629 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $17 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: SW 9th Ave
Transit: Pioneer Court House Square (from yellow/green/blue/red lines)
Description: Southpark, a contemporary seafood restaurant in Portland, Oregon, is inspired by the amazing farmers, fishers and winemakers of the region. Located in the heart of Portland’s Cultural District, Southpark is the window into Portland’s arts and entertainment where guests can relax in the dining room, wine bar or outdoor dining while taking in the vibrant energy of downtown. Fresh fish and naturally raised beef, pork and oysters from the northwest are showcased every day. Southpark also offers a wine experience unlike any other in Portland with an award winning wine list and comfortable yet sophisticated wine bar.
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Local food great pork belly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Locally sourced food and great service at the bar. Went with friends on a Bussiness trip ordered several apps and a grass feed strip steak very tender. Pork belly very taste

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    121
    34
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Nice Taste of Portland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I had dinner at Southpark on a quick trip through Portland last week. It was recommended to me by some locals. The atmosphere is spacious and nicely decorated, making it ideal for a business or romantic dinner. The menu is small but augmented by daily specials, which are mostly seafood. The majority of the food served at Southpark is locally sourced, and everything was very fresh. The food was well cooked and nicely presented. Service was a little slow, but helpful. Prices were mid-range (entrees $25-40). In a city full of great restaurants, Southpark is a good option.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Declinign Quality and Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Decided to visit this last weekend and was sorely disappointed. Entree was sent back, fish was undercooked and smelled terrible. Staff seemed overworked and somewhat aloof. Other patrons seemed to enjoy their dishes. This is used to be one of our favorite, but we doubt we will return anytime soon. Not worth the value.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigard, Oregon
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Pre-theatre lunch Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had a very enjoyable lunch prior to attending the matinee show of "Book of Morman". The warm and inviting setting was perfect for a glass of Dundee Hills Pinot Gris while I enjoyed a wood fired pizza and my wife feasted on the Ono. The service was excellent as everyone was friendly and working hard to make all guests welcome. By the way, the bread had a touch of Rosemary and went well with Balsamic vinegar and salt. We will return again soon!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sisters, Oregon
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Happy Hour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My wife and I stumbled on this restaurant when we were on our way to another one. The lounge area is very cozy and discreetly cut off from the main dining area. It has an old world look which was enhanced with classical music playing in the background. Our server, Chelsea, was very personable and attentive. She even brought me some extra bread when she saw I wouldn't have enough for the chicken pate I ordered. We were very pleased with the appetizers and wine we ordered and would go back in a flash!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Southpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southpark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.