We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful find on Division” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clay's Smokehouse Grill

Clay's Smokehouse Grill
2932 SE Division St, Portland, OR 97202-1352
503-235-4755
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #236 of 3,629 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch
Portland, Oregon, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Delightful find on Division”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We found Clay's when we were on the way to a concert nearby. There were restaurants all over, but the traffic was heavy, and we didn't want to cross the street. Fate led us there... The decor is authentic funky. We got to feel very comfortable about the time we began studying the menu and pricing. The menu was incredibly varied, and prices were very affordable. From what I saw, there was very little of the expensive side-picking that you get from other BBQ joints. It either came with it or was available for a nominal amount. Now, then... this was good bbq! Nicely smoked, and wonderful sauces as well. I had meatloaf, the special, and my wife had a pulled pork sandwich. Both were superb! We'll be back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    14
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great, authentic smoked BBQ, pleasant service/atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We by chance came upon Clay's while visiting Portland and staying down the street. I had wanted BBQ for some time, and I'm so glad we came to Clay's. It had a nice, casual, eclectic atmosphere. The service was fast and friendly, but above all, the food was excellent. We had the ribs and beef brisket sandwich; both were excellent, but I think the ribs were best. It was just a tiny bit expensive $10 for a sandwich); however the servings were ample, the food was delicious, and the service was very pleasant and fast. We would go back. Try the ribs, the meat falls off the bone.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Yes, yes and more yes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Cozy spot with just enough tables and a glass of wine while you wait. Large portions of perfectly seasoned soul food and a few interesting combinations. The cold smoked seafood platter was big enough for three of us to share as an appetizer, and we still took portions home. Friendly wait staff and greens so fresh I'm near positive they were picked out back. Can't get this place outta my head!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Clay's Be Smokin' Something Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

This smokehouse offers good ribs (special pricing on afternoons, I think just Friday), a nice set of draft beers & a generally comfortable atmosphere for BBQ-consumption. A few outside picnic tables are available if you want to watch the rain come down as you chomp on those ribs. Service is decent with no nonsense. Praise Clay's cuz they be smoking something good!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butte
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The way BBQ should be.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

If you are looking for a refined experience, don't go to Clay's. If you are looking for awesome BBQ in the kind of atmosphere that understands you sometimes need draw-string pants to fully enjoy the experience, go to Clay's. They aren't going to judge you if, like me, you like to swim in BBQ sauce. The waitresses are appropriately sassy and fun. The atmosphere is perfect paired with the food, casual and utilitarian. I greatly enjoyed my evening there and would go back again when a BBQ craving hits me. The only tiny downside is that they didn't serve cornbread. As a person who also loves cornbread, let me tell you, what they lack in cornbread, they make up for in every other item on the menu.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clay's Smokehouse Grill also viewed

 

Been to Clay's Smokehouse Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clay's Smokehouse Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.