We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Veal Parmagiana” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DeNicola's Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
DeNicola's Restaurant
3520 SE Powell Blvd, Portland, OR 97202-1878
503-239-5220
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #874 of 3,539 restaurants in Portland
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Mukilteo
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Veal Parmagiana”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Tried this on a recent visit to Portland as I looked for a restaurant with veal parmagiana (or veal parmesean, if you prefer) and outside of downtown. These folks know how to make a tomato gravy, pound a veal, use sufficient mozzarella, and attend to diners. The setting is a touch rustic -- why are there rarely ceilings in Northwest restaurants??? -- and it's easy to get to as it's on a major thoroughfare. The only disappointment was the bread; while tasty it's typically soft not the crusty Italian bread you may be used to from back east.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

65% Recommend
    9
    6
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Delicious Italian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Denicola's has some absolutely amazing entrees, chicken cacciatore is our favorite. Very friendly staff with a family-owned feel. The decor is a bit dated so I wouldn't give the highest marks to the atmosphere but the food more makes it well worth a visit. Plus, it is affordable and they often offer discounts like all-you-can-eat spaghetti night and online coupons.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Love It!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We went here because we had a groupon or living social, I don't recall which, but we had been meaning to try it so that reminded us to go. It is one of the few places I can go in PDX which has an authentic east coast feel to it. The food is great. We even went back and it was still just as good. True Italian servings, aka don't go home hungry, cuz you can't.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gresham, Oregon, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“What is a word for clothes pin my nose in Italian”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I took family from out of town here for a relaxing dinner, The place had an odd odor to it, though it was supposed to be a very good place, and it was for the most part everything but. Out of 6 people none of us could come up with something to eat off the large expensive menu that looked good other than the pizza, Honestly I should have bought dough and the meats and did this myself, Atmosphere was very plain, service needs polish, I do believe that the owners kids are the wait staff and they don't feel they need to wait on anyone except themselves, I watched them eat. Price $69.00 for 2 large pizza's and soda's, I choked on the bill, but I had a groupon and the owner refused to let me use it, The owner just wanted to argue so we payed the bill and left. I looked at the reviews and ratings before I went and that turned out to be a mistake, you can't believe all you read in this case. I will not return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Good food, nice interior”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Used a Living Social coupon and it made for a great value. Not very crowded but did have to wait what seemed like a long time for a not very friendly waitress to help us. Had two dinner salads, a large pizza, and a half a loaf of garlic bread. Thick crust on the pizza (normal crust for this restaurant ) was a good choice. Not sure I would return without a coupon, but possibly.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DeNicola's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to DeNicola's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DeNicola's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.