We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enormous portions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Original Pancake House

Original Pancake House
8601 SW 24th Ave, Portland, OR 97219-4034
503-246-9007
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #90 of 3,621 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Family Fare
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Enormous portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We have been eating at this restaurant for at least 30 years. We have learned because of its popularity to arrive on a weekday Wednesday - Friday when they open at 7:00 to avoid waiting (there are no reservations) and get a good parking spot. They do have a large waiting area, which was probably a porch to the house the restaurant occupies. If we go on a weekend, we just grab a Starbucks and a paper to read while we wait for our number to be called.

The service is top notch. My husband always orders the Apple Pancake for $12, which is so delicious. (It's more like a rich dessert.) It comes out of the oven very hot and remains so for quite a long time.

I like to change it up on occasion and order something else such as the White Cheddar and Bacon Omelette for $13.50, which I had today. I was hoping there would be some onions, garlic or other veggies also in the omelette, but it just had what was listed on the menu. The omelette was very light and fluffy, but I thought the cheese was a little overwhelming. (They must put in a half a pound or more!!) The omelettes also come with 3 buttermilk pancakes. In any event, anything you order will serve at least 2 people, so you could easily share. We will both have one or more breakfasts with the leftovers. The only complaint I have is their coffee. To me, it tastes like it is made with chicory. I normally skip their coffee when eating here or drink hot tea.

The wooden chairs are not the most comfortable seating, however, they are so busy that they probably don't want people to linger for hours. The noise level can be obtrusive during peak hours, which is again why we go very early. We look forward to many more years of dining here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    24
    17
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good quality food with large servings and price tag”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Six of us came here for breakfast and it had probably been 10 years since my last visit because I am not a breakfast person. We all ordered our own meals and we probably could have shared 3 or 4 because we had so much food that no one could finish theirs. Great service and quality of food and the fresh squeezed OJ was fantastic.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle Point, Oregon
1 review
“6 eggs! $2.95 milk”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

They don't tell you an omelette has 6 eggs! Too big, should share. A dinky glass of milk was 2.95!! The food is good, but we could have split an omelette, and forgot the milk.
If I remember correctly, they don't take credit cards?!*#

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“So, so, so worth the wait!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Fittingly, when we decided to go out for breakfast on the 4th of July, we declared our independence from boring breakfast fare by visiting this restaurant. We arrived about 10am and the hostess quickly met us, gave us our numbered ticket, and told us it would be about a 15 minute wait. There is room for about 20 people in the foyer, and some covered walkways outside, so it was a comfortable wait. My son made friends with a nice woman who had been coming here for more than 30 years, and her advice when asked what to order: "It's all good." The dining area is crowded but convivial--it really feels like an old house that was remodeled into a restaurant, and it probably only seats about 50, which explains the lines waiting to get in.
The coffee was a cut above--a nice middle of the road proprietary blend that was served in heavy cups and saucers, not mugs. I thought it was a nostalgic touch, along with the pink-aproned servers. We had an apple pancake, pigs in blankets and a southwestern omelette. All were hot, fresh, huge, and delicious. For those who have been known to sneak a slice of apple pie for breakfast, the apple pancake is a socially-acceptable replacement, with the 'cake' being a thick, almost custardy base for thick slices of cinnamon apple gooey delight. Mmm-mmm good.
The service was quick but not rushed. And just to complete this step back in time, do remember that it is cash or check only.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Real Portland Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Gotta come here -- by bus or car -- this is the ORIGINAL Original Pancake House. Nothing but the best of ingredients. Peach crepes are wonderful, but only come once a year. Forever favorites are the apple pancake (they peel the Granny Smiths in the back between waiting tables) that is baked and served upside down -- like a Dutch Baby with apples. Get bacon and eggs because their regular pancakes a truly the best you'll ever get (it's a rising formula, like bread!). Ask for the community table to sit and visit with artists, union organizers, chauffeurs, workers, and an occasional heart valve inventor.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Original Pancake House also viewed

 

Been to Original Pancake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Original Pancake House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.