We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green Wok

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Green Wok
11137 SW Capitol Hwy, Portland, OR 97219-7201
503-246-1683
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,343 of 3,629 Restaurants in Portland
Cuisines: Vegetarian
Restaurant details
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Food is Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The only place I have had better Vegan Asian cuisine is a Buddhist monastery outside of Hong Kong. We went because they had a lunch booth at VegFest last September, tasty. The food at the restaurant is better than that! Sweet and Sour Chicken was so delicious after we tasted it, we all wished we had ordered more. The eggplant was disturbingly good, disturbing because I think about going back and getting some more all the time. The Kung Pao Tofu was tasty and expertly prepared, I took home the leftover and stir fried it with broccoli for lunch the next day, yum. Veggie spring rolls were made fresh, I hadn't realized that I hadn't had fresh egg rolls in quite some time. The rice and hot tea were included in the price of the meal. The chef really knows how to prepare his dishes, but he seems uncomfortable with his customers. We went at an off hour, so hopefully there is more staff working at other times.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    0
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Even Carnivores Love Green Wok”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

I am not even close to being a vegetarian. It took my vegan sister moving to town for me to be introduced to the Green Wok and I may never want any other Chinese food again. Salt & Pepper tofu....go try it! Eat it EVERY day it is so good. I have enjoyed every bite from this place. It is a hole in the wall and not really convenient but find it, you will thank me!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulsbo, Washington
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent food, being vegan is not required”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

The food at the Green Wok is worth going out of your way for, even if you're not vegan. Try the Vegetarian Bird-Nest Chicken. It's amazing. Spicy & sweet, crispy and wonderful.

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Uniacke, Nova Scotia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“This tiny restaurant packs a huge punch in the food industry.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

As a vegan myself, I was delighted to eat in a place where everything was of plant origin, and so utterly tasty. The buffet ($6:50 for all you can eat, Monday through Friday) was excellent value. The food was not only tasty but hot and well presented in the buffet trays. Full marks for flavour and presentation! And not one animal was hurt or destroyed for our pleasure. Who needs meat???

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Can't believe it's not meat!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

Green Wok is by far the most inventive and delicious vegetarian restaurant I've dined at. The lunch buffet is a steal at $6.50 and the orders off the menu for lunch and dinner and take-out are scrumptious. My friends couldn't believe the General Tso's Chicken wasn't chicken.
Located in a hole-in-the-wall strip mall, it's easy to drive right by. But don't miss it...well worth the drive from outlying areas.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Wok also viewed

 

Been to Green Wok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Wok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.