We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent teriyaki” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Happy Bowl Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Happy Bowl Restaurant
738 SW Alder Street, Portland, OR 97205-3412 (Downtown)
(503) 224-6135
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,950 of 3,282 Restaurants in Portland
Cuisines: Japanese
Neighborhood: Downtown
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Downtown
Twin Falls, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Decent teriyaki”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Never been disappointed. Relatively fast, well priced, convenient. I always get teriyaki so that's all I based this review on. It's usually fairly crowded with locals so that's a good sign.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    2
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Veggie bowl ok.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Veggie bowl was very generic.needs more variety.one good thing was the choices in size of bowl. Could share a med between 2people.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klamath Falls, Oregon, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“It was pretty good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

I would go back again. They had a very interesting menu.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great food, great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

I've been going here for lunch for a while now. Without my saying anything, the owner (I'm guessing - she's always there) picked up on the fact I only ate the broccoli and started changing my order that way. Now, she'll send in my order as soon as she sees me walk in the door. I always get the chicken bowl. There are times the chicken is a little dry or the rice a touch over cooked, but the great staff more than make up for it. The prices are good. The decor is dated, but so what.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“You get the distinct impression that you are going to get some fast-food Chinese food and that is what you get. Not...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2007

You get the distinct impression that you are going to get some fast-food Chinese food and that is what you get. Not half bad.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Happy Bowl Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Happy Bowl Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Happy Bowl Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.