We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place To Eat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elmer's Restaurant - Mall 205

Elmer's Restaurant - Mall 205
9660 SE Stark St, Mall 205, Portland, OR 97216-2408
+1 503-256-0333
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #573 of 3,629 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Beaver Dam, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good Place To Eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stopped in for lunch on a very busy day and we were surprised with the fast and courteous service. While the place was full and very busy, the wait staff was courteous and very efficient in providing excellent service in providing us with a good lunch. The clam chowder was very good and the turkey sandwich I had with it was tasty. We got a fair amount of food for a reasonable price. We will definitely go back there again when we are in the area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    16
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chisinau, Moldova
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Old Reliable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I have been eating at this Elmer's for more than 10 years -- whenever I visit Portland. It is a part of the Elmer's chain which I think of as an upscale IHOP -- except it is more than that. But they offer the best breakfast menu, outstanding service and a very comfortable venue. Parking is ample. In my mind, it is the old reliable. I have eaten breakfast here often with friends and always found the food to be very good, the service reliably good, and the location just great. We have had family meals with more than 15 people and I have eaten here by myself. The restuarant was fine for all types of occasions. I would recommend a special dish, but there are just too many. I am particularly fond of the three-berry french toast and Elmer's excellent selection of omelets.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“They handle the crowd”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Don't worry if the parking lot is full. Elmer's attracts lots of repeat customers because they know how to handle a nearly-full restaurant efficiently and with friendly, timely service. The tables were full, but our food came as though we had the place to ourselves Good food, and a cut above the typical road house family restaurant.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Family spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Elmer's still provides what it did 35 years ago - quality food, generous portions, and reasonable prices. It's not gourmet, but then that's not why one visits Elmer's. Nice place to take the family, great breakfasts, and (usually) pretty good service.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northridge, CA
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This place is a quick 5 minute walk right off the Parkhurst stop on the red line MAX. Breakfast was excellent! Really fresh food and great service!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elmer's Restaurant - Mall 205 also viewed

 

Been to Elmer's Restaurant - Mall 205? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elmer's Restaurant - Mall 205, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.