We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere and food for a celebration!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Al-Amir Lebanese Restaurant

Al-Amir Lebanese Restaurant
223 SW Stark St, Portland, OR 97204-2602 (Downtown)
503-274-0010
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #259 of 3,629 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $0 - $21
Cuisines: African, Lebanese, Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
portland, or
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great atmosphere and food for a celebration!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

A group of about 20 just recently went to Al Amir in downtown Portland for a birthday celebration. We decided to eat family style and the food just kept coming. It was all excellent...especially the vegetables!! The Belly Dancing entertainment was fun, especially when our guest of honor joined in the fun! The only problem was at the end of the night when the bill came. Trying to split the bill was a nightmare...some drank ALOT, others a little, others not at all. Management was not very helpful. It stressed our guest of honor out a bit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    9
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Just average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We went on a friend's recommendation but wouldn't recommend the restaurant to others or go there again. There are several higher rated Lebanese restaurants in Portland, Menu and food were both quite bland and boring. Wine and spirits selection both poor. We've seen much better belly dancing too. The interior decor looked quite shabby but the low light level hid it quite well. No particular complaints about the service. It was slightly slow at times but the waiter made up for that with his enthusiasm. Noisy - conversation difficult during belly dancing and happy birthday music.Cramped - tables are squashed in there to get as many customers in as possible. OK but not exceptional value for money.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Don't Go”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The service is very bad and the food is only average. There are two or three places within a couple blocks which are much better, both service and food.

As an example our waiter took our order never returned, someone else delivered our food after some time, then we had to flag down someone else to get our bill. Which took 20 minutes to finally pay.

I will never go back.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“With my Oman friend.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I had a guest in our country this week. We ended our time together in Portland. Until here he had to eat at American restaurants and find items that fit his diet. It was nice to finally take him to a place where he could enjoy all his favorites and then teach me some things. It also helped that they are 100% halal. The food there reminded him of home. But he was not a fan of the belly dancer. But I was. Thanks to my business friend I now have an entire new line of restaurants and flavors. I would return to this place in a heart beat. The food was great, service was sluggish though.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Decent dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Four of us had dinner some dishes were very good and others just fair. Service was good as we're the prices. Belly dancer was fun.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al-Amir Lebanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Al-Amir Lebanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al-Amir Lebanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.