We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hippy Kind of Place with Great Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Wives' Tales - CLOSED

Old Wives' Tales
1300 E Burnside St, Portland, OR 97214-1424
(503) 238-0470
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American, International, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Hippy Kind of Place with Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

There are vegan options for pretty much everyone, and huge portions. I have been here several times for breakfast. There is probably a mommy lunch crowd as I noticed a play room, but I was there in the early morning, so it was a quiet place to eat & read.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    25
    16
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Helens, Oregon
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Small Restaurant With Okay Food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

If you are hungary, this restaurant will do just fine- the food is not bad and the employees are a little hippish but pleasant!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wanted to like it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We felt like an inconvenience to the server. She was sitting at a table working on something when we got there (preparing cutlery maybe?) and was very quick with us. We had decided on dessert because the menu of available vegan desserts was extensive, but we were brought our bill before we had the chance to order one. When we asked if we could add a dessert, we felt again like we were an inconvenience - she seemed in a rush to have us leave. Salad bar was not fresh - wilted baby greens had to be avoided while serving oneself - and we were having an early dinner, so I'm not sure how long everything had been sitting. Too many other delicious, excellent places nearby to go back to this one should we ever be in Portland again.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon City, Oregon, United States
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Healthy food in a comfortable setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Food is good, basically healthy but good tasting fare. Perfect place to meet friends. Or bring your kids, for the food and the playroom.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Hungarian Mushroom Soup”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We have gone there for years. The Hungarian Mushroom Soup is the big attraction for us. We are NOT vegetarian so I am not as attracted to the other entree's but when we do add other items, they are always filling and well prepared.
Totally kid friendly!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Wives' Tales also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Wives' Tales, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.