We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing veggie friendly fare” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jam on Hawthorne

Jam on Hawthorne
2239 SE Hawthorne Blvd, Portland, OR 97214
+1 503-234-4790
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #153 of 3,327 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $18
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Amazing veggie friendly fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Went in on my way out of town and LOVED how veggie friendly Jam is! I had a scramble with hashbrowns, spinach, mushrooms, and veggie sausage. It was so good and huge - I could only eat half of it. I'll admit that I took the rest and ate it cold with my bare hands when I was starved after a long day of driving. It was still delicious! I will go to Jam every time I'm in Portland forevermore!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    31
    3
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome value, food & fun (great for kids/families)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The first time I stumbled upon this Portland treasure and favorite, I had no idea it was so popular! It was before they expanded into the restaurant space next door. Coffee cart on the sidewalk and busy every weekend, Jam on Hawthorne has a delightful unique and delicious menu with TONS of choices. Their blueberry chai pancakes are hearty and amazing, their Grand Marnier French Toast also awesome and there are lots of scrambles and other options galore (you get large portions too). They also boast a wonderful kids menu from about $3-$6. In addition they have a kids play area (a previous stage area for what used to be a bar :) with toys and space to be themselves while waiting for a table or while sipping your last bit of coffee in the morning.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My daughter and I had a delicious breakfast in this very popular restaurant. It's casual, the food is creative and tasty, and the staff is friendly and pleasant. The salmon-egg dish is one of the best breakfasts I have ever eaten and I'm looking forward to trying several of the other menu items when I visit with my daughter again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
57 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast Food in Portland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

My son lives in Portland and each time we visit, he likes to go out for brunch so we've tried many brunch places in Portland. This, by far, is the best.

A friend recommended Jam and so we went! We were a big group and everyone raved about what they ordered. I ordered Maddy's pancake and it was good. My daughter ordered the French Toast and it was delicious! The best one I tried was the "Downtown" scramble (scrambled eggs with spinach, tomato, garlic & feta). Someone else ordered the "Spicoli" (scrambled egg with bacon, tomato, jalapeno & cream cheese). The portions are huge and the price is very reasonable. Definitely, great value.

I would love to return and try the other items on the menu and go for lunch or dinner. I can't wait to visit again!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
56 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Loved the Maddy's pancake: lemon with ricotta and blueberry component and the.corned beef hash. Not so much a fan of the french toast. Large portions and great service. Will definitely return

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jam on Hawthorne also viewed

 

Been to Jam on Hawthorne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jam on Hawthorne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.