We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a short line but not much more.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Voodoo Doughnut

Voodoo Doughnut
22 SW Third Ave, Portland, OR 97204-2713 (Downtown)
(503) 241-4704
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 102 Bakeries in Portland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Dessert, Donuts
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Takeout
Neighborhood: Downtown
Lake Havasu City, Arizona
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Worth a short line but not much more.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

The atmosphere of this place is really what makes it, and its cult following. We've been in line for 15 mins and 50 mins. The taste is worth a short wait, but it's not worth an hour just to get your pink box.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,590 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,011
    772
    596
    141
    70
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dickinson
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“No line for us!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

We went in the morning after leaving our hotel and arrived around 9-9:30am. We went right inside. Plenty to choose from and the girl at the counter was FRIENDLY?!? After reading so many reviews before our trip I was prepared for long lines and rude counter help. No such things on our visit! Ok, so the police were outside because of the bicycle theft, but that didn't deter us! Our boys got to each pick ( we had them pre-pick online beforehand just in case) but it was nice not to be rushed. They had Miami berry vice and the Oreo dirt. We also got the traditional voodoo doll, peach fritter, a butterfinger and a few others. All good. The peach fritter I got was huge! I also got to take lots of pictures. Great experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“All about the hype”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I waited 40 minutes in line on a Sunday night at 9:30pm. The doughnuts were good, but not great. My favorite was the Maple Bacon...2 actual strips of bacon on top of the doughnut.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Honestly? It's overrated.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I have a sweet tooth and I can appreciate a good donut but honestly I wasn't too impressed with Voodoo. Having to wait in line for 40 minutes likely significantly raised the expectation that anything just decent or average wasn't going to cut it. There were a ton of selections and I tried a box full but each was just OK for me. It's definitely a touristy thing to do IMO, I did it once when I visited and likely won't bother again the next time I go back.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Quirky stop in Portland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The doughnuts are ok, but it's more about the atmosphere. The X-rated pastry names and sexual innuendos keep you giggling as you pick out a treat. Beware: they only take cash!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Voodoo Doughnut also viewed

 

Been to Voodoo Doughnut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Voodoo Doughnut, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.