We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food. long wait..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bombay Cricket Club

Bombay Cricket Club
1925 SE Hawthorne Blvd, Portland, OR 97214-3817
(503) 231-0740
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #437 of 3,629 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $21 - $30
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Damascus, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious food. long wait..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Delicious food. long wait but worth it. Staff very attentive - we had a great time. Portions were average.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    13
    9
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, New Mexico
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great Indian Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We were visiting Portland and our friends said this was a must visit restaurant. They were correct. The Mango Margaritas were terrific. They also had a good wine list. There were 6 of us for dinner so we ordered different dishes and shared family style. We had 2 chicken dish, 1 veggie dish and 4 lamb dishes. Everything was delicious and the portions were a healthy size. Although the place was quite busy (we had reservations and this was a Thursday night) service was still very good. The saag and naan were very good. I don't thnk you can go wrong with this place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best Indian food in Portland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I've eaten Indian food all over Portland, and I keep coming back here. The best tandoori, the best saag, hands-down, and the best naan.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best in Town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Best Indian and Middle Eastern food in Portland hands down. Delicious Naan and solid adult beverages. I have eaten here a dozen times and always great.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silicon Valley
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Good Indian restaurant in Portland”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Came to this restaurant during a business trip to Portland. It was a Thursday night and the place was full. We were fortunate to get a table without a wait. We ordered the following items:

Prawns Coconut Curry (one of the house specials): Unfortunately had high hopes for this; the sauce was very bland, even though we asked for "spicy".

Chicket Tikka Masala: this was the highlight of the dinner - the chicken was very good, with good heat (spice)

I struggled between good and very good. I finally settled on rating the restaurant "good" - although I would come back and try other entrees before passing final judgement. I would recommend coming and trying for yourself; be forewarned on the naan; and if you like your food spicy, make sure to tell the waitress when ordering (they typically ask).

One last note: they do have a private parking lot; however it was full when we arrived, so we had to park on the street. You may have to drive around the block and park in the neighborhood behind the restaurant. No street lighting in the adjacent area.
Onion and Garlic Naan: The naan bread was different than any naan I've ever had - it was very thick (like a pizza) and huge. I suspect this bread will have its fans and detractors. I'm more of a traditionalist; so it really wasn't for me - although - I can't say it was "bad" - it was just different. I would recommend you order just one to try for yourself. It is almost a full meal given the size.

Raita: good, it was thick (not runny); it was heavily spiced with cumin (may be too much for some) - which was ok for me.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bombay Cricket Club also viewed

 

Been to Bombay Cricket Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bombay Cricket Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.