We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reminds us of Japan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ichidai Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ichidai Restaurant
5714 SE Powell Blvd, Portland, OR 97206-2856
503-771-4648
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #381 of 3,282 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi
Good for: Large groups
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Portland, Oregon, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Reminds us of Japan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Going on the recommendation of Japanese friends, we tried Ichidai tonight. All four of us have been to Japan at least once, and all of us were very pleased with the food at Ichidai. We were sure to order a variety so we could share, which made it even more enjoyable. The only thing missing was an "Irashaimasen" when we walked in. Kind of a quirky location, but we'll be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    3
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great Food, Reasonable Prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have been going to Ichidai for nine years and have not ever been disappointed. The menu is extensive and the service is friendly.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“My favorite sushi in Portland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

I have been eating at Ichidai for years. They never cease to offer incredibly fresh fish, delicious sake and great service. The location is somewhat difficult to find,( off busy and always under construction Powell Blvd), and the parking is always interesting, but i highly recommend going despite these small obstacles. It will remain my favorite for many more years to come.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, OR
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good as Usual”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

Whenever we travel to Portland, we try to include a meal at ichdai. We have spent time in the Orient and developed a taste for Japanese Cuisine. It is hard to find an authentic Japanese Restaurant that has not been "Americanized". Ichidai is one. The restaurant is all you expect, the decor is authentic, the Sushi Bar is great and the output is mouth watering. The service is fast and knowledgeable which helps the unfamiliar customer significantly. The food is as authentic and tasty as any you would find in downtown Tokyo. Can't wait to get back.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“service slowwwwwwww!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2009

service slowwwwwwww!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ichidai Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ichidai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ichidai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.