We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“won derful food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Veritable Quandary

Veritable Quandary
1220 SW 1st Ave, Portland, OR 97204-3201 (Downtown)
503-227-7342
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 3,282 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
billings, mt
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“won derful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We really enjoyed the food, wine and atmosphere. We had stuffed dates rolled in bacon, and another appetizer, rack of lamb with candied parsnips and slightly tart cherry sauce, rainbow farm fried chicken, chocolate soufflé and tiramisu. The wine was also excellent. It was costly, but worth it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    559
    218
    53
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“For all times”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

I have been a VQ guest for more years than I will admit too. Rather grew up with it. It was, and is a Portland icon. The food is elegant and the ambiance casual. Late nights the narrow bar in the front is lively. Many of the patrons have been meeting here for years. It rare not to see someone you know. Many are in suits, others in jeans. Conversations are easy.

The back diningrooms are more subdued, but both are old and warm. Old brick walls, patinaed woods and leaded windows. It is a landmark building that has been meticulously cared for.

Twenty five years ago the crowd was mostly young. We still come in droves for drinks, dinner and brunch. But whole new age groups have found a home there as well. It hugely congenial and diverse. The service is casually wise...it is not a quick dinner place. The food is bistro fabulous. One wonderful chef. Don't miss the desserts. The Osso Bucolic is fabulous.

We live in The Pearl and can walk to 100 restraints. The VQ gets us in the car at least once a month.

A Portland institution that earns it medal year after year. Growing up...never aging.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A great dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We had a reservation for 5 people and were given a table that was way too tight to accommodate us (Four of us are over six ft. tall). Oh no, we thought - a disaster in the making! The staff were very responsive and then a miracle happened - the private wine cellar opened up!

Three of us had osso buco, which was one one of the best I've ever had.
They have an excellent, although a little pricey wine list.
All in all - terrific evening.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Portland Classic still delivers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Portland is such a great food town that it's hard for locals to keep up with all the fabulous dining choices. A friend in town on business gave me the perfect excuse to try the VQ, which has been delighting patrons since the 1970s. We didn't have a reservation, but got a table in the bar, where you can order off the dining room or bar menus. Food was good, service was good, drinks were very good and the VQ is going into my regular rotation of downtown dining favorites. Lots of fresh, local choices, though in Portland that's pretty standard! The atmosphere is cozy, both in the dining room and in the bar, with a wonderful patio option for the warmer months.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Liked everything about it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We went here for Sunday brunch in October. We arrived without reservations and the place was mobbed because it was Breast Cancer walk day in the city. They seated us in no time in a lovely little nook. Service was very attentive and arrived within an appropriate time frame especially given the crowd. Food very good. I don't remember what I had but my husband had the smoked trout scramble which sounds disgusting to me but he just raved about it. The décor is so welcoming - bit of the old, bit of the new. Well maintained. There is an outside patio but it was a light drizzle the day we were there so it was not being used. I saw several large parties being accommodated in the back rooms. Don't know what the parking situation is - we walked from our hotel. Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Veritable Quandary also viewed

 

Been to Veritable Quandary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Veritable Quandary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.