We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Food, Service and Atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Veritable Quandary

Veritable Quandary
1220 SW 1st Ave, Portland, OR 97204-3201 (Downtown)
503-227-7342
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 3,629 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Downtown
Amelia Island, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food, Service and Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I can't say enough great things about this restaurant. From the beginning to the end, the evening was perfect. Our server was so very helpful with the wine list and made several recommendations until we found just the perfect local wine. Each of the fish entrees--opah and salmon-- was displayed on a beautiful bed of vegetables which were perfectly seasoned and added so much flavor to the fish along with a drizzle of sauce. We also ordered a special corn side dish which was delicious. To top off the evening, we shared the crisp with a scoop of ice cream which was perfect. The restaurant was quaint and the outdoor patio area was beautiful with the white twinkling lights. We sat indoors but the windows were opened so the air circulating was quite nice. This was the best meal of our entire trip!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    506
    192
    48
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food and Wine list”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

VQ was recommended by our hotel and didn't disappoint. Had a great Willamette Pinot and the Lamb. My wife had the Osso Buco. The service was great and friendly. Great energy and vibe.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangeley, Maine
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Everything about this restaurant was terrific! The food heavenly, the atmosphere delightful and the service terrific!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Wish This Place Was Where I Live!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Great food and service! Fun drink menu. Nice wine list. They let us taste several wines to be sure we got the one we preferred.
From start to finish everything was just wonderful! Seafood perfectly cooked.
Pineapple Upside-down Cake to die for!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best meal all week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This was the best restaurant we visited all week. We had 9 at dinner and everyone raved about their meal. The service was great, prices were very reasonable and it was a short walk to the downtown hotels. We ate out 10 times in Portland and this was the best by far.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Veritable Quandary also viewed

 

Been to Veritable Quandary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Veritable Quandary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.