We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vegetarian Heaven ... But You've Got to Pay For It!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Genoa

Genoa
2832 SE Belmont St, Portland, OR 97214
(503) 238-1464
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #251 of 3,561 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $50 - $80
Cuisines: Italian, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: SE 29th Ave.
Salem, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Vegetarian Heaven ... But You've Got to Pay For It!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My wife and I dined here with a couple of vegetarians. I veered slightly off track by selecting the sturgeon (thus making me a pescetarian for the day). The decor is lovely. The food and service were absolutely perfect! The vegetables were transcendent! The wine pairings, on the other hand, were underwhelming, and if I were to go again, I'd select one good bottle of something I loved.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    5
    5
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Most Romantic Restaurant Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Perfect for birthdays and anniversaries. Fabulous food and atmosphere. The service is impeccable. Can't miss.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

For many years the experience of the 7 course meal at Genoa is unmatched. Always different and flavorful. Bring your wallet full or good credit card.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
266 reviews 266 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Very Nice Fixed Price Menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Genoa is something unique in Portland. They offer a five course fixed price menu ( $65)where the only choice is the main course ( between 2 options ) and desert. They also have a vegetarian option. I ate there recently with my wife and daughter and we all ordered the duck as our main. The waiter explained that these ducks are not raised for foie gras so they are lean. It was the tastiest duck I've ever had. All the courses were delicious. Venison carpaccio , home made past with champaign mushrooms, smoked trout in a salad , the duck and for desert, a delicious cheesecake.
I ordered the wine parings and the wines ($40) were unusual and well presented and explained by our excellent waiter.
This is not an every week italian restaurant but much more a special event place. We thought the service, food and atmosphere were all top notch and will be back. I understand they change the menu every month.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Amazing Italian!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Creative and delicious! It was a 5 course menu service the night we were there, however, we asked and received a 3 course menu. Service impeccable, food amazing. Italian, but lighter, more concentrated flavors and fresher with the finest local ingredients. A must do!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Genoa also viewed

 
Portland, OR
Portland, OR
 

Been to Genoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Genoa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.