We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Romantic Restaurant Ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Genoa

Genoa
2832 SE Belmont St, Portland, OR 97214
(503) 238-1464
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #218 of 3,558 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $50 - $80
Cuisines: Italian, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: SE 29th Ave.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Most Romantic Restaurant Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Perfect for birthdays and anniversaries. Fabulous food and atmosphere. The service is impeccable. Can't miss.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    5
    5
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

For many years the experience of the 7 course meal at Genoa is unmatched. Always different and flavorful. Bring your wallet full or good credit card.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
271 reviews 271 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Very Nice Fixed Price Menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Genoa is something unique in Portland. They offer a five course fixed price menu ( $65)where the only choice is the main course ( between 2 options ) and desert. They also have a vegetarian option. I ate there recently with my wife and daughter and we all ordered the duck as our main. The waiter explained that these ducks are not raised for foie gras so they are lean. It was the tastiest duck I've ever had. All the courses were delicious. Venison carpaccio , home made past with champaign mushrooms, smoked trout in a salad , the duck and for desert, a delicious cheesecake.
I ordered the wine parings and the wines ($40) were unusual and well presented and explained by our excellent waiter.
This is not an every week italian restaurant but much more a special event place. We thought the service, food and atmosphere were all top notch and will be back. I understand they change the menu every month.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Amazing Italian!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Creative and delicious! It was a 5 course menu service the night we were there, however, we asked and received a 3 course menu. Service impeccable, food amazing. Italian, but lighter, more concentrated flavors and fresher with the finest local ingredients. A must do!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camas, WA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't miss this restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We first went to this restaurant in the 80's. After living in Seattle for many years we came back to this area. My husband surprised me with dinner reservations for our 30th wedding anniversary. It was wonderful back then and exceeded our every expectation now. Great service and the food was absolutely wonderful. Each course seemed better than the last. We can't wait to go back. DON'T MISS IT!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Genoa also viewed

 

Been to Genoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Genoa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.