We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dragonwell Bistro

Dragonwell Bistro
735 SW First Ave, Portland, OR 97204 (Downtown)
(503) 224-0800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Dragonwell Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #451 of 3,687 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: SW Yamhill
Transit: Conveniently next to the SW Yamhill Max Station in Downtown Portland
Description: Dragonwell Bistro is centrally located in Downtown Portland at SW 1st and Yamhill by next to the MAX Yamhill Station. If you dare, come inside and take a look, this is not your ordinary Chinese Restaurant. when you walk in, you will be greeted with an Upscale Bistro with high ceilings and a full spacious bar along with the Newer decorations Owner Jack Brought back from China. The smell of the food will make you want to sit down, and one taste of any of their popular dishes some of which was brought back by Jack from the 20 years of travelling in China. will keep you coming back time after time. If you are a visit, be sure to flag Jack down to give you some suggested place to go, as he grew up here in Portland but have live in Portland, San Francisco, LA, New York and Asia for the past 20 years. We love visitors, from all over!!
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Excellent experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

On our summer vacations we've always looked for good Chinese in Portland and this is the very best! Great food, service, atmosphere and host. One block from the river for a nice walk afterwards. Highly recommended. Mongolian Beef and Orange Chicken...very tasty!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcmchu, Owner at Dragonwell Bistro, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
We really appreciate your visit here at Dragonwell Bistro, especially you came all the way across the country, it is always our goal to make sure you not only get the best tasting freshly made Chinese Food, but the whole experience should be a pleasant and memorable one. Thank you for your visit.

Jack Chu, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    16
    4
    1
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Prospect, KY
2 reviews
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Recently visiting Portland, OR. The food tastes great, the prices reasonable, owner friendly, staff attentive. If you are in Portland be sure to check it out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcmchu, Owner at Dragonwell Bistro, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you Barbara for giving up a try, hope you have a good time at the cooking demo. It is always nice to be able to take care of our visitors to our Great city. Please remember us on your next visit! Have a wonderful week. Jack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Chinese Food, great service, nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I eat here at there happy hour almost once a week. The food is fresh, tastes great and is presented very nicely.. I have gotten away from Chinese food due to a lot of over cooking and everything tasting like mush but the Dragonwell has made me into a Chinese fook lover again.. Prices are reasonable and I love the beautiful silk curtain at the enterance.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcmchu, Owner at Dragonwell Bistro, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you so much Sandi for your continue support, week after week. It is clients like yourself that help us grow. Also, with your business of booking special travels for folks to exotic places like Africa, South America, Europe, etc., you have many opportunities to taste the food all over the world so your comments to Dragonwell Bistro means a lot to us. Thank you again!! Jack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Great Food, wonderful owner, and thoughtful hostess!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

My husband and I, being from San Francisco, are very picky about our Chinese food, we happened upon this restaurant late Saturday night. There was a party happening on one end of the restaurant; the hostess quickly gave us a great table away from the noise of the party. She quickly recommended the house specialty – the pork dumplings, she wanted to make sure that because it took a while to make, that we would have ample time to enjoy them. The owner, a SF transplant himself, learning we were from San Francisco, came by to chat with us, reminisce about the Bay Area, he was friendly, but not overbearing, the dumplings were out of this world. We also ordered the ribs and the spicy chicken, everything was well-prepared and very delicious. The restaurant itself was clean, had a beautiful ambiance, and wonderful people working there. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone going to Portland!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcmchu, Owner at Dragonwell Bistro, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you so much for visiting us. And having lived in San Francisco before, having you two here feel like my friend is visiting from far away, which would make anyone's day. I am just glad that all of us at Dragonwell Bistro is able to take good care of you to your satisfaction, as that is our number one goal here for all of my staffs. We hope to see you the next time you visit us again! Thank you for your review, it means a world to us. Jack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Half Moon Bay, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“This is where to go for great food -Irene is the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Thanks Irene for introducing us to Champagne Chicken
The spicy chicken is wonderful too
Beautiful wraps
Great cocktails - Oriental Passion for tequila lovers and Pendleton Blush for whiskey lovers!
If you are in Portland - Do not miss this place!!!!!!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcmchu, Owner at Dragonwell Bistro, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you for your visit, we are so glad that we were able to take good care of you. You satisfaction is always our number goal here at Dragonwell Bistro. Hope to see you again soon! Jack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dragonwell Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Dragonwell Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dragonwell Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.