We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andina Restaurant

Andina Restaurant
1314 NW Glisan St, Ste A, Portland, OR 97209-2783 (Pearl)
503-228-9535
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Andina Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 3,597 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $21 - $80
Cuisines: Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert, Private Dining
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Pearl
Cross street: 13th
Transit: Portland Streetcar: 10th/Glisan (Northbound to NW 23rd) and 11th/Glisan (Southbound to PSU)
Description: Andina draws inspiration from the native culinary traditions of Peru, as well as from the contemporary cooking by some of Peru’s leading chefs. Owner Doris Rodriguez de Platt, collaborates with Andina’s kitchen team to develop a menu that celebrates her family’s Andean roots, interweaving the ideas and techniques of both Criollo and Novo-Andean cuisines. The kitchen sources native and local ingredients to create dishes at once traditionally rooted and personally inspired. Founded in 2003, Andina emerged as one of the region’s leading Peruvian restaurants and continues to generate wide appeal within the food communities in and around Portland, and much further afield.
Oak Brook
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Luckily we got to the restaurant around 6PM. They gave us a table and said we would have to vacate it at 8:30 (but they would not rush us out). I can see why. . . the place was jammed on a Friday night by 7:30. GREAT FOOD!! All sorts of things to try. It is like a tapas restaurant only the portions are not too small. Four of us ordered several items and we shared them. Great flavors. I have never had Peruvian food and now we are looking for a Peruvian restaurant near Chicago. Definitely try this one.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    860
    258
    63
    23
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“My favorite restaurant in Portland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This place is special because it is modern and yet keeps the traditions and flavors of the Andes. From what I've hear, the owners invite young chefs from their native Peru to take their version of nouveau-Peruvian cuisine to us. The staff is knowledgeable and provides great service. One thing to consider is that it gets very busy on the Friday and weekend evenings. Reservation is a good idea.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The Best Restaurant in PDX”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

The steak was amazing, the drinks were fantastic, the service was terrific. I would eat there every day if my body and wallet could handle the wear and tear.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hampton. NY
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Lots of Fun and Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This is a very lively and popular Peruvian tapas restaurant. We tried more dishes than we could finish, but liked everyone of them. We had found Portland dull until we went to Andino and also discovered the surrounding area which reminded us a little of Greenwich Village. We highly recommend it. Furthermore, the staff was extremely helpful in calling us a taxi to take us back to our hotel.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Top Dining in Portland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This is the ideal spot for out of town business visitors. Creative choices with unique South American flavors. Serves a variety of meat, seafood, and fowl dishes. Nicely presented and cooked to perfection. Personally enjoyed a quinoa salad that was outstanding followed by pork loin cooked just as requested. Excellent. Others enjoyed scallops and duck. Finally, a lengthy quality wine list to pair with your meal. This is my third visit, not my last for sure, an each time is better than the last. Give Andina a try.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Andina Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Andina Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andina Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.