We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A corner of Persia in Portland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Persian House Restaurant

Persian House Restaurant
1026 SW Morrison St, Portland, OR 97205-2626
503-243-1430
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #481 of 3,282 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $10 - $18
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Buffet, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Gatineau, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A corner of Persia in Portland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Very nice menu, excellent food (blend of spices was superb) and very friendly service. Lovely restaurant that I recommend highly.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    9
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Family-owned and fabulously operated”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I have been coming to Persian House for about six years now, and am never disappointed. The food is always delicious, whether I'm there for a nice sit-down dinner for a special event or a casual weekend brunch, and the people are so calm, quiet, pleasant, and amicable. They are quick to come check on you if you look up but are equally as content to leave you alone if you're engrossed in conversation.

My favourite time to go is probably the lunch buffet. For the price the quality and flavour of food is amazing, and it's always nice and pleasantly quiet, even when there's a full house - which leads me to feel the sort of people who enjoy Persian House are those who are respectful of food and environment and courteous to other guests. It is definitely not carnivore-friendly, though; the lunch buffet has baked chicken drumsticks and meatballs, but is otherwise entirely vegetarian. If you like warm, flavourful vegetable curries, however, this is delightful.

For dinner, definitely do the Tour of Persia. For $20 you get a delicious cup of Persian tea, an appetizer, lentil soup or salad, an entrée, and a slice of baklava. My favourite entrée is probably the salmon fessenjan, but I'm also a fan of the delightfully juicy and tender lamb stew, or the seafood paella. The lemon chicken with tart barberries is tasty as well when I want something with a simpler flavour.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon City, Oregon
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch buffet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The lunch buffet is a great value even if you don't want to eat a lot. You get a bowl of soup (the day we were there, it was a delicious lentil soup), a small salad with a good selection of fresh ingredients, and then there's the buffet. A bit of advice - any dish here that has tomatoes will be especially delicious. The lamb meatballs are great too, but if you're less adventurous there is fried chicken. Highly recommended!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“The buffet was delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I love Persian food. As it was lunchtime we had their buffet and it was delicious. There was a wonderful chicken dish that was very moist and carefully cooked. Everything offered was tasty and delicately, but authentically seasoned. The spinach had plums in it which gave it a mildly sweet flavor, excellent. There were many choices, we left feeling full but not bursting as the food is filling but not oily. They have chicken fesenjan at night which we did not have time to come back for, but judging by the food we ate, I would imagine they do a great job.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, oregon
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Elegant and Economical”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

It is difficult to find a restaurant that appears to meet many of our needs: modest cost, quiet environment, table cloth and cloth napkins, great service and particularly interesting food. Persian House does it all. There is an interesting "package," 5-course" meal, and for those with smaller appetites, there are large salads. Everything is tasty. Is it authentic? I assume so, but not being of Persian origin, as are the owners, I do not know. But surely, it is a delicious option in downtown foodie-oriented Portland.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Persian House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Persian House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Persian House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.