We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting worse!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of CHA CHA CHA Mexican Taqueria

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
CHA CHA CHA Mexican Taqueria
2635 NE Broadway St, Portland, OR 97232
(503) 288-1045
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,096 of 3,282 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Getting worse!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

After a less than stellar experience, we thought we would give Cha Cha Cha on Lombard one more chance. Sorry we did.
The wait staff has gotten worse. The food remains unimaginative and, on this visit, lacked most if not all flavor. We ordered the happy hour Happy Mama Enchilada and it was not much more than a luke warm enchilada with some cold avocados and sour cream plopped on top.
The funny thing about their "happy hour" is it is not much of a happy hour at all. THe happy hour menu items are only $1 off the regular menu items and they are a fraction of the size.
I think this Cha Cha Cha has outlived it's welcome in North Portland and it time to get a new. and better, restaurant in it's place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    7
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“So small a restaurant, with so GREAT food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Super tasty, really-realy great food! super fresh, and do try the white coconut-cinnamon-soft drink!!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Going down hill fast!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

This used to be a good (not great) restaurant for fairly good Mexican fare. Now it has become a fair to bad restaurant for tasteless, boring Mexican food. We have been to all locations and it appears to be a problem that exists with every one of them. Most of the time the service is slow and the food comes out cold. The newest location on Lombard is the worst. The kitchen staff actually stuck their fingers into our food when we sent it back because it was cold, then put it in the microwave, and tried to send it out to us. The customers at the table next to us witnessed this as well as us and commented. GROSS!!!
Good Mexican restaurants are a dime a dozen. Do yourself a favor, go to a restaurant that is at least trying to make your dining experience enjoyable.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good food for cheap!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

its a great place to go for healthy fast food. Its family friendly too.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful chicken tortilla soup”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

We were first attracted by the colorful exterior of this restaurant - it's bright turquoise - but we're definitely planning to go back for the food. We tried the carnitas tacos and the chicken tortilla soup. The carnitas was very flavorful, and came with an abundance of cilantro and onion on extremely fresh tortillas. The tortilla soup,which is also available without chicken, was some of the best we've ever had. The seasoning is just right, and the balance of the chicken, broth, tortillas, cheese, and avocado is perfect.

If you're at all picky about iced tea, do NOT order it here. There was a distinctly odd taste too it, as if maybe it had sat for several days. There are many other beverages to choose, along with self-service ice water.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CHA CHA CHA Mexican Taqueria also viewed

 

Been to CHA CHA CHA Mexican Taqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CHA CHA CHA Mexican Taqueria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.