We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to have a surprise Birthday Party!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Serratto

Serratto
2112 NW Kearney St, Portland, OR 97210 (Northwest District)
(503) 221-1195
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Serratto is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #179 of 3,621 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $21 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Northwest District
Cross street: NW 21st Ave & NW Kearney St
Transit: Portland Streetcar (NW 21st and Lovejoy) heading East toward Pearl District/Downtown/Waterfront
keizer
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place to have a surprise Birthday Party!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Had a surprise birthday party for my wife at Serratto's and it was fabulous! Approximately 30 guests attended. They have an elevated mingle/lounge area off one side of the bar when you enter, and just through another set of doors, seating for 40+ guests. Several of their staff were attentive throughout the cocktail hour and following dinner. Their event planners will work closely with you and provide a menu you select with your event title.

The Hor'derves served during the cocktail hour were excellent and the dinner consisted of four entrees. Grass fed Ribeye steak (perfect almost like filet mignon!), roasted Pacific Ling Cod, braised Draper Vlly Chicken, and Ravioli with Dungeness Crab. The side dishes accompanying the dinners were wonderful too! Serratto's accommodated several guest with gluten and dairy allergies. Overall a wonderful dining experience. We will definitely be back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    47
    19
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Over prized arrogant waiter American food with Italian names.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Did not feel welcome when visited with my wife, waiter brought the wrong food without any apology. Had a business dinner a few days later, food was cold, drinks did not get a refill and again arrogant waiter.
The food is not Italian is is American with an Italian name.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

the food was very tasty and I really liked the availability of the smaller portions. Service was attentive but not intrusive. Maybe a little too much salt in the food.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Best restaurant food I've had in YEARS!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We had dinner at Serratto last night and the memory of the fabulous food still lingers. I just returned from 24 days in Italy and if the food in Italy was as good as Serratto I would definitely have had a better time on my vacation.
I don't know if I'd say this restaurant is Italian - although there are several pasta dishes, the main courses don't scream "Italian". Our group had seared sea scallops with French green lentils, Bouillabaisse, grilled quail on a bed of apples and butternut squash, and Dungeness crab ravioli. We started with Caesar Salad (an American invention, BTW) French onion soup, and calamari. Everything was delicious and I'd highly recommend it, except for the calamari, which were pretty rubbery and bland, and, though I didn't try them, I heard the ravioli were also pretty bland.
My favorite dishes were the quail (yes, it's small, but have you ever seen a quail? they are tiny birds!) - it was boned and grilled perfectly, and the bed of roasted apples, squash, and curly endive was extraordinary; and the Bouillabaisse - an outstanding broth flavored with toasted fennel seed, shaved fennel bulb, and saffron, with a generous mound of fresh seafood.
We dined on a Tuesday night and the service was excellent, friendly, and helpful, without hovering, and the food was hot and promptly served. I'm a good cook myself, and I'm happy to pay for good food and good service, and Serratto came through.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I dined at Serratto as a part of a company meal while on a business trip to Portland. Wonderful meal of pasta, salad and dessert and some wonderful wine. The restaurant has a wonderful atmosphere.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Serratto also viewed

 

Been to Serratto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Serratto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.