We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chocolate croissants!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St Honore Bakery

St Honore Bakery
2335 NW Thurman St, Portland, OR 97210 (Northwest District)
(503) 445-4342
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 3,627 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Bakery, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Neighborhood: Northwest District
Hell, Michigan
Top Contributor
402 reviews 402 reviews
251 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
233 helpful votes 233 helpful votes
“Chocolate croissants!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Stopped in and got a couple of chocolate croissants right before they closed for the night and they were awesome! The other pastries in the case looked good and I definitely would like to have an actual meal here.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    66
    8
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Edmonds, Washington
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“What's not to love in a French Bakery?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Family style seating, fresh bakery smells, warm soups and great sandwiches on a cold rainy December day. It MUST be what France is like! While not inexpensive, worth every bit for the quality and atmosphere. Egg nog bread pudding was a little dry and disappointing but the fresh brioche roll and Buche du Noel rivaled the best I have ever had. Could do a little better job of timely bussing of tables...lot of crumbs from previous people but in fairness tables don't sit idle for more than a few minutes. Will happily return!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Excellent neighborhood bakery in the French Style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Always wondered what boulangerie is all about? Miss Parisian style bakery items and cafe? Enjoyed an excellent croissant style bakery item this morning with coffee. Though a tad more expensive than some bakeries in town, the quality and atmosphere make up for it. There are some typical baked items; variations on French croissants and breads and specialty bake items, quiches and such. I highly recommend seeking them out for a taste of French boulangerie

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, Arkansas
Top Contributor
789 reviews 789 reviews
423 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 207 cities Reviews in 207 cities
383 helpful votes 383 helpful votes
“Great selection of French bakery items in a European atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

This is the second year that my wife and I have visited our daughter in Portland and stayed in the NW District. We enjoyed our stay at the Holiday Inn Express so much last year that we stayed there again on this most recent trip. It is just a block away from St. Honore and three blocks from Besaws, our favorite breakfast places.

On our visits to St. Honore we had Pain Au Chocolat and Normandy Apple Toast for our breakfast pastries with their wonderful coffee. We took away sandwiches one day when we drove up the Columbia River Gorge and had a picnic at Rooster Rock State Park (on the west end not the east end that has the nudist beach).

Our sandwiches were the Rillette Et Roti De Porc in a rustic roll with braised pork shoulder with fennel, cranberries, honey Dijon glazed pork roast and apple slaw and the Jambon Parisien with baguette bread, Dijon mustard butter, black forest ham, emmental cheese, cornichions and lettuce. The sandwiches were delicious on the banks of the Columbia River.

On the last day of our trip we went to St. Honore and got a Gateau Au Chocolate and a Gateau Orange Et Gingembre to eat on our flight home. This is the best French bakery I have ever visited. If it was closer to home where I could visit it multiple times a week I would probably weigh twenty pounds more than I do, but it is a great place to indulge yourself once a year.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great french pastry!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We were there for early lunch 11:30 on a Tuesday. Not too busy. Indian lentil soup very good, nicoise salad great and duck salad good. The atmosphere is not really friendly even thought they claim it in their menu, but the quality of food is there.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St Honore Bakery also viewed

 

Been to St Honore Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Honore Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.