We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous desserts, good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Higgins Restaurant and Bar

Higgins Restaurant and Bar
1239 SW Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-2915 (Downtown)
503-222-9070
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Higgins Restaurant and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #49 of 3,629 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $21 - $40
Cuisines: American, Italian, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Downtown
Greenwich, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fabulous desserts, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

If you are looking for meat and desserts this is the right place to go for that sort of food. My Dad had the whole pig which was mainly pork and sausages he thought it was very good. My families favorite desserts were the goosberry sorbet, chocolate ice cream, miniature blonde brrownies and croustillante these are all amazing choices for desserts, the 2 best out of all the desserts are the croustillante and the blonde brownies which come on the side of every sorbet and ice cream. I recommend this place if you are looking for lunch or main meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    97
    46
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Portland,OR
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Eat healthy at Higgins”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Excellent meals with high quality organic, farm to table local foods. Great place for a Paleo dinner!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“As good as expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This was one of the best meals I have ever enjoyed on a trip to a city in which I picked a place because the menu and atmosphere seemed just right. The wait staff (Josh) and food were top level and Greg Higgins was available to chat at the end of the meal. The starters and Halibut for main were all great and they split the main with a small charge with both plates having full side dishes (very yummy).

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Good meal and worth the trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We spent a weekend in Portland late in July, and decided to try Higgins for a Friday evening dinner. We tried the charcuterie plate, which was very good, and my daughter had the halibut, which she said was excellent. My other daughter had a steak which she liked. She initially wanted to get something light from the bar menu, but the restaurant policy is that you cannot order from the bar menu if you are in the main restaurant. That was disappointing, but she was OK with her (much more expensive) steak.

Restaurant was comfortable, and easy to talk in without being overwhelmed by noise. Service was very good, despite the refusal on the bar menu. Prices are fairly steep, but quality of the food was quite high. I would not go out of my way to go back for another meal at Higgins, but if I were in town, and in the area, I would not hesitate to have dinner there again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“If you like pork, this is the place for you!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We enjoyed the locavore aspect of Higgins and so does the wait staff. Our waitress was really helpful in choosing wines to go with our lovely dinner. The highlight of the menu was the charcuterie plate, filled with house made sausages, terrines and a great rillette. The wine list is wonderfully large and diverse as well

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Higgins Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 

Been to Higgins Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Higgins Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.