We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hamburgers!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bluehour

Bluehour
250 NW 13th Ave, Portland, OR 97209-2953
503-226-3394
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bluehour is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #523 of 3,687 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $34 - $80
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Everett
Transit: Bluehour is located three blocks west of the NW 10th and Everett stop of the Portland Street Car.
Description: Bluehour means different things to different people. In French literature it describes any time of day "of heightened emotion." In Portland it has come to mean "a great place to dine." As the premier modern restaurant in the Pearl District, Bluehour opened its doors in 2000, with what Gourmet Magazine describes as, "the most sophisticated, contemporary food in town." Guests choose between the elegant dining room or the casual cafe and bar. Simple, delicious and classic describes the Mediterranean cuisine we create in the Bluehour kitchen each night. The menu is printed daily, but Bluehour standards remain, like the pillowy potato gnocchi with black truffle and the perfectly seared, bacon wrapped sea scallops. Our cheese cart is among the finest on the West Coast, featuring regional and international artisan cheeses.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great hamburgers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Yes, hamburgers can be great, if they are done like we had at Bluehour. I suspect other dishes are also good, but we had arrived late in the evening and wanted something in the neighborhood where we were staying. Excellent.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluehourPortland, Bruce Carey, Owner at Bluehour, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Happy to hear you're a fan of our hamburgers! Have any other dishes caught your eye? We'd be more than happy to make a recommendation. Thanks so much for the stars and come back again soon.

Take care,

Bruce Carey
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    49
    34
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manama, Bahrain
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food compensated for inattentive service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Although the menu was not extensive, there was more than enough to tantalize a foodie with favorites ranging from foie gras to oysters. The food was absolutely perfect. The service was friendly but borderline inattentive although it wasn't a particularly busy night. Highly recommended overall.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluehourPortland, Owner at Bluehour, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Adel, thanks for taking the time to leave a review! I'm happy to hear our menu tempted your foodie palate, and that the service was friendly. I'm sorry if they were a little inattentive, and will be sure to bring it up with my staff. We appreciate your recommendation, and will look forward to seeing you next time.

Take care,
Bruce Carey
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“I find it amazing......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

First of all, let me say that we have eaten at Bluehour for over a decade. We have NEVER found the food to be "unimaginative" or the service to be "chaotic" or "slow", as one reviewer commented.
Blue hour has always been and will continue to be a place we not only reserve for special occasions (New Year's Eve, birthdays, and anniversaries), it is where we go to dine with 100% certainty our palates will be tantalized and treated.
We celebrated our 18th wedding anniversary at Bluehour last night and, as always, the experience was beyond perfect!
We were immediately seated upon our arrival, greeted with a celebratory glass of champaign (Shirley Temples for the kids), and settled in for a night of culinary delights.
Shortly after being presented with an amuse-bouche, Chef Dolan stopped by our table to welcome us. It was nice for the kids to hear him explain his menu and as a result, our 14 year old decided to try the pan fried oysters. That made the evening worth it.
Our server was professional, attentive and knowledgable. As a chef, I tend to ask a lot of questions about my selections and she had all the answers. In addition, her recommendation for a wine pairing was spot on and, if possible, enhanced our experience even more.
Bluehour may not be for everyone. If you are even the slightest bit culinarily inept and unwilling to be educated in the finer art of food, I am sure there is a Subway near by. Bluehour is for foodies or foodies in training.
So, bottom line, if you really love food, a pleasant and relaxing atmosphere, with a professional staff and talented Chef, you will walk away from Bluehour, as we have for the past ten years, only able to form one word to describe your experience, "Wow"!
Thank you Bruce, Chef Dolan, Adam & Michelle for making our 18th wedding anniversary so special and memorable. See you on New Year's Eve.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluehourPortland, Bruce Carey, Owner at Bluehour, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for continuing to support us with a five-star review! We can't begin to express how much we appreciate your compliments. More importantly, we're pleased to have made your wedding anniversary that much more special. Congrats, by the way! We can't wait for another great time come New Year's Eve. Thanks again and enjoy the rest of your summer!

Take care,

Bruce Carey
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Chic and special”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

At the last minute my husband decided to try this restaurant. We wer able to get reservations and were very pleased with the ambiance at arrival. Waited in the bar for our table because we were early and had a terrific server who was very attentive and had suggestions for things to do while in town. Our meal was wonderful as was the wine. The cheese selections were phenomenal. We decided to treat ourselves and try the chocolate torte with OLIVE ice cream and figs. AMAZING! Creative, chic and delicious.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluehourPortland, Bruce Carey, Owner at Bluehour, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
"Creative, chic and delicious"—loved hearing this about Bluehour. Thank you! We're thrilled that you and your husband has such a terrific meal with us and appreciate the time you took to share this with others. Hope to see you again soon!

Take care,

Bruce Carey
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Searching for razor clams”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The restaurant told the concierge at our hotel that they had razor clams which they did not!! The food was OK, but the service was SLOW! Then they overcharged $30 each for 2 bottles of wine. We were with our friends celebrating our anniversary and it was not what we had hoped!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluehourPortland, Bruce Carey, Owner at Bluehour, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am sorry if there was a miscommunication about the razor clams—this is understandably disappointing and I'll check to see what might have caused this mix-up. When did you come in?

Likewise, we work hard to ensure all the food is served in a timely fashion so I'm disappointed to hear you thought it was so slow.

I was made aware of this incident the morning after it occurred. That was to late for remedy, but at least you will know that we take problems like this very seriously, especially the price programming issue that you experienced, which of course was unintentional.

If you have any other concerns, don't hesitate to share them with me. I'd like the opportunity to clear the air and make things right! Thanks for bringing this to my attention and take care.

Best regards,

Bruce Carey
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bluehour also viewed

Portland, OR
Portland, OR
 

Been to Bluehour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bluehour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.