We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You must try the original Mortons on state st!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morton's - The Steakhouse

Morton's - The Steakhouse
213 SW Clay St, Portland, OR 97201-5811 (Downtown)
503-248-2100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Morton's - The Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #308 of 3,548 restaurants in Portland
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: 2nd Avenue
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“You must try the original Mortons on state st!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

I have been to about 10 Morton's. But the best one hands down is the original Morton's on state st in Chicago !!
There is a secret entrance and an old school feel. Great service ( friendly and attentive)
Great food. This location is the best!!
Thanks rocky,Suzanne,lorenzo and everyone else who always makes our experience memorable.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    47
    19
    12
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Classic Morton's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We have been to at least 5 Morton's including the original one in Chicago. This is is by far one of the best! Not noisy , good service and great food. The steaks are fantastic. The only drawback is the price. This is the place to dine for special occasions. Kudos to Dan the manager for a great place to dine!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, OR
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“just yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The portions were huge(!), the presentation delightful, nice ambience--perhaps a bit dark. You pay for it but it's really good

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A Special Touch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I took my husband here for his birthday and across the top of the personalized menu, it had the date and Happy Birthday from Morton's. The staff was amazing. The service was excellent. For appetizers we had the oysters Rockefeller, escargot and crab cakes. My husband had the cajun rib-eye that was not hot, but seasoned. I had the Filet Mignon was just melted. They have valet parking which can be added to your bill. It is worth the experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington, United States
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good food, a little on the high side.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

The service and food is what you should expect for a $$$ restaurant. Hearing the bartender talk about cooks actually reading tickets is a little worrisome, but the food is worth it. I had four petite sandwiches that were incredibly tender. The pictures salad was a bit disturbing.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Morton's - The Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morton's - The Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.