We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service, authentic dishes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Piazza Italia

Piazza Italia
1129 NW Johnson St, Portland, OR 97209-3062 (Pearl)
503-478-0619
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 3,348 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Delicatessen, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Doing business, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Pearl
Friday Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Service, authentic dishes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I attending a business dinner meeting here with a very large group. I had an excellent sald because I have a gluten free allergy, however, everyone else loved their food. The presentation was beautiful and the service very good.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    76
    13
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
138 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Home-style Italian in the Pearl”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This place is outstanding. The decor is typical of some the places found in cities with large Italian influences. The lasagna is outstanding; cheesy and piping hot. The homemade sausage hits the spot. I recommend making reservations, there is limited sitting and fills up quickly. Solid prices.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good authentic Italian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Nice little restaurant in the Pearl District. Food was very good, though salmon was quite undercooked -- they brought another. Service was extremely good. Seemed like a very well-managed family-run restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, CA
Level Contributor
163 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Small,authentic Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We have been to Italy many times,however this small trattoria is as authentic as any I found I the US. It is family owned and operated. Papa died last year and the family continues the tradition. mall but charming,with outside seating upon request...and reservations will give you what you want. good,traditional food at very reasonable. Pets allowed outside. A real treat for the "Pearl"district. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waunakee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great dinner and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Had reservations which were needed...very small crowded restaurant. My husband had penne bolognese and I had a pasta dish with pesto, shrimp and mushrooms. I had asked for the homemade pasta but did not get it, but never the less it was great. When asked how are dinners were I mentioned that fact and our server did not charge us for that entree. Had a great bottle of wine recommended also. Everyone was so friendly and they all spoke Italian. Someone in the restaurant was celebrating a birthday and the elderly gentlemen (who is the owner and also gives you the menus when you sit down) got everyones attention and started to sing happy birthday to this lady. Very Cute!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piazza Italia also viewed

 

Been to Piazza Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piazza Italia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.