We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant home, immaculately clean and the perfect setting next to Laurelhurst Park.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Portland Mayor's Mansion

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Portland Mayor's Mansion
Save
You added Portland Mayor's Mansion to your Saves list
3360 SE Ankeny St., Portland, OR 97214-1946   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 42 Portland B&B and Inns
Springfield, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Elegant home, immaculately clean and the perfect setting next to Laurelhurst Park.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We have stayed in over 30 bed and breakfasts over the years and this is the most pristine home of them all. There is not a single crack in any wall or caulking , no dust, no smudge on any window, beautiful furnishings and collectors pieces........how he manages to keep it in this state is beyond me. We wished we had booked a full week rather than 2 days. The peaceful setting adjacent to the park is therapeutic for us as well.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
42
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Completed our three week exploration of Oregon with two nights at the Mansion..a highlight. Dick makes it a delightfully relaxing stay. (I'm gonna have to buy those bed sheets for my wife) The mansion is a wonderful restoration. The location is amazing with it being adjacent to Laurelhurst Park. Only a few blocks to any of a number of great restaurants. And also is a block from Burnside St. bus line...seemed like ten minute ride to downtown. ($5 all day mass transit pass). Wonderful breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasco, Washington
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed one night with our family and had the best lodging experience.
We had the room at the end of the hall (I don't remember the name of it).
The bed was one of the most comfortable that I've slept in, with sheets
so soft it was luxurious. Set in the beautiful Laurel Hurst area of Portland,
the aroma from the blooming Magnolia tress was amazing. What a beautiful
house inside; the breakfast room provided the perfect setting for all of us to
enjoy our morning. Dick, the owner, was a real joy to be around!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Beautiful mansion in a lovely neighborhood with beautiful trees and a park behind mansion. My husband and I only stayed one night so we didn't spend too much time in mansion. Dick, the innkeeper, was friendly. My husband is lactose intolerant and Dick was kind enough to make him oatmeal for breakfast so my husband was happy to eat that along with some fresh fruit. Our room, The Ankeny room, was spotless, comfortable and had a great view of this gigantic old tree.
On a minor note the free standing tub in our room was a little tough to step in and out of for showers. This might be an issue for some folks especially elderly folks. A handle is provided, but it's still a bit awkward getting in and out of shower tub. Overall, we enjoyed our stay at Portland Mayor's Mansion and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed in the Alexander P. Ankeny Room. The room was small but had everything we needed. The mansion is beautifully appointed and very welcoming in a quiet residential neighborhood. Breakfasts were thoughtful and very tasty. Walking distance to some excellent restaurants, two grocery stores, etc. I would recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

This spring, I could hardly wait to return to the best B&B in Portland. For four nights, I stayed in the Laurelhurst Room with a private deck –- great for enjoying a glass wine after sunset. Last fall, I stayed at the Mansion for three nights: one night in the Laurelhurst Room and two nights in the Alexander P. Ankeny Room – both great rooms. The adjacent Laurelhurst Park has wonderful walking paths to enjoy the lush greenery.

Dick, the innkeeper, is an amazing host and makes you feel at home. The sumptuous breakfasts (e.g., lox and bagels, fresh fruit, and homemade quiche) and luxury accommodations were, as always, superb. The Mansion’s immaculate and the furnishings are beautiful. Kudos to Dick for another wonderful experience and to Michelle who keeps the Mansion spotless.

Portland has a treasure in its midst.

Looking forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Mayor's Mansion. Dick, the innkeeper, is very welcoming, friendly, and accommodating. He provided advice, maps, and even rides into town when needed. The house itself is comfortable, quiet, and homey, yet also both beautiful and spotless (my springtime allergies were nonexistent during our stay). Breakfasts were huge and delicious, with coffee/tea, a selection of juices, fresh fruit and yogurt, plus a substantial entree each morning. We didn't need lunch despite walking several miles a day exploring downtown and touring the Rose Garden, Japanese Garden, and Lan Su Chinese Garden. For dinner, there are a couple of very good restaurants within a pleasant 10-15 minute walk through a residential neighborhood, and for an afternoon pick-me-up, the Tao of Tea teahouse is just on the far side of the park (another pleasant walk). Public transportation is plentiful and easy to use. We hope to visit again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Portland Mayor's Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Mayor's Mansion

Address: 3360 SE Ankeny St., Portland, OR 97214-1946
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room rates $125.00, $150.00, $225.00 Plus $25.00 Per extra person in the suite Portland Mayor's Mansion™ is a four-room bed and breakfast located at Laurelhurst Park in Portland, Ore. The mansion, which was originally called the H. Russell House, has been referred to as The Mayor's House or The Mayor's Mansion for many years. It is our intention to keep the beautiful and historic home, which is on the National Register of Historic Places, connected to its past. The H. Russell Albee House, built in 1912, holds significance under the U.S. Department of the Interior's Criterion "C" as an excellent and well-maintained example of Colonial Revival Architecture. Located on a commanding site overlooking Laurelhurst Park in southeast Portland, the large brick home was designed by prominent architect, Albert E. Doyle. Significant elements include the following: Bilateral symmetry of the front elevation Hipped roof Arched and rectangular windows, double-hung and casement Pedimented entrance portico; and Full Doric entablature at the roofline and classical interior detailing - all characteristic features of the Colonial Revival. Albert E. Doyle designed many large homes in Portland. His most prominent works included the Selling Building, Multnomah County Central Library, Northwest Bank Building (now the American Bank Building), Reed College, Benson Hotel, U.S. National Bank Building, the lodge at Multnomah Falls, Public Service Building and the Pacific Building where he moved his office in 1926. H. Russell Albee carries significance under the U.S. Department of the Interior's criterion "B" for his contribution to good government in Portland and his lifelong interest and support for the city park system. Albee served one term as a State Senator before being elected mayor of Portland in 1913. He was elected on a progressive platform that included a charter proposal that eliminated the old ward system and introduced the commission form of government Portland has today. Albee's skill and leadership brought about the successful implementation of the new government and the related modern programs. He led the efforts to develop the city's public docks and strongly supported measures to implement the park expansion called for in the 1912 Bennett Plan. He did not seek reelection in 1917, returned full time to his insurance business. In 1939, after his retirement from business, Albee returned to public service when the city council invited him to accept the temporary post of advisor and assistant to the Superintendent of Parks, a position that was established in connection with a new park development program. The position was made permanent in 1940 and Albee was given title of Supervisor of Land Acquisition and Development for the Bureau of Parks. He continued in that position until his death at age 83, December 31, 1950. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portland Mayor's Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.