We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere, good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Levant

Levant
2448 E. Burnside, Portland, OR
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Levant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #658 of 3,629 Restaurants in Portland
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
Dining options: Buffet
Restaurant details
Dining options: Buffet
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We went there on a Tuesday evening, the restaurant was not packed - so there was a better view on the stylish interior, the interesting lightning system.
Service was excellent. The food was mixed:
Starter:
Fava Bean Falafel, Zhoug, Tahini - hmmh, interesting - but not great
Lamb 'Cigars,' Harissa Yogurt - excellent
Fried Halloumi, Honey, Walnuts - different than expected, but I really liked it

Main course - we had fish and lamb - both were excellent, cooked to the point, interesting spices ..

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    6
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
“Solid tapas place on E Burnside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We both liked Levant - actually quite a lot. From the greetings (yes - we had a reservation) to the ambiance (a nice stylish touch yet down to earth), we felt warmly welcome. The food was very tasty and all our selections turned out to be a success. The only reason why I'm not giving it a 5 star review is because of a "deja-vu" feeling as we have a few of these tapas-style trendy eateries in Portland.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“Way, way, WAY Overpriced!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

You would think that a place that charges $4 for two pita breads (no refills, it's another $4!) and $10 for a tiny salad would have fantastic flavor. You would be wrong. We were there in Feb 2014, and had to keep our coats and GLOVES on the entire meal! I guess they were conserving energy, or they didn't give a crap about the comfort of the patrons. This place would be overpriced if they cut their price in half. I am surprised they didn't charge for water. We spent $100 for 1 entrée, and some small plates. For a moment I thought I was in Paris or New York at a 3 star place, until I tasted the food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Plains
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“second rate restaurant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

This is as expensive as any restaurant in Portland, and the food is not at a commensurate level. Pita bread with za'atar was well seasoned, satisfactory; lamb cigars same. The roasted sunchoke dish was dull and some sunchokes were undercooked and hard. The grilled marinated octopus dish was $16 and the portion was scant; flavors good but not special. Pan roasted sturgeon was moderately overcooked and the cabbage/apple accompaniment was not robust enough for balance. The roasted lamb was dry and had a sous vide texture though it was described as roasted; fruit accompaniment was good; onion good. Doughnuts' lemon curd overwhelmed the rose jam and pistachio. All in all, 50-60% overpriced and execution and design of dishes not up to standards in the community. Price higher than le Pigeon and way inferior on all counts.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We'd heard great things about Levant, so 6 of us went, and all were a little underwhelmed, maybe in part due to our expectations. We were in the back room, which is cool and highly recommended (except for the bad painting that doesn't fit the space at all). Our server was minimally attentive - not sure if that was because it was poor service, because we were in back and out of the flow, or whether he was trying to give us time to chat (we were quite chatty). This was fine at first, but less fine later.

The Borolos we tried were both good (lots of wine to choose from), as was the mix of my G&T. As for the food, we tried all the apps - except the olives and almonds. All were good, but again not overwhelmingly so. The salads were a mix. The beet salad was both beautifully presented and tasty. The pear salad was basically just a ton of sliced pears - not much interest. Similarly, the fennel salad was pretty much a plate of sliced fennel. If you go, try the beet - skip the rest. Oh, and the fried cauliflower dish (on the small plates section) was great! Order it.

The entrees were also less than desired. The men all ordered the lamp, which was good but no one was raving about (unusual for my hubby who oohs and aahhhs about good lamb). The other two ladies had less than desirable dishes (unfortunately I don't remember what). I had a white fish dish - the fish was good but the accompanying hash was way too salty ( and I like salt).

Lastly dessert - we had a chocolate cake of some sort, a donut dish, and something else I don't remember, because none were good. Wish I were eating a Voodoo or Ben & Jerry's instead.

Ok, so all that said, it's not terrible. Still worth a try. But select carefully and don't expect too much.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Levant also viewed

 

Been to Levant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Levant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.