We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can't go back to before!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rhinelander German Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Rhinelander German Restaurant
East Sandy Boulevard, Portland, OR
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #516 of 3,282 Restaurants in Portland
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“You can't go back to before!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

When we lived in Salem some years ago, the Rhinelander was worth the drive to Portland. On our recent trip south from Seattle, we found it not such a great place anymore. The whole focus appeared to be on beer partying, with large plates of mediocre food, and entertainment that can be annoying at least. My husband couldn't even finish the tough sauerbraten, and the Jagerschnitzel I had was nearly absent of mushroom sauce. But I suppose it can be fine for a party, if you don't have high expectations.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    8
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Such a great time with good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We met friends with our daughter for a belated birthday get together. There is no better place for this kind of celebration. They had lots of good beer and lots of good food. The accordion player was there singing songs and going around to the tables to sing happy birthday. Olive Rootbeer was there dressed up and making balloon animals and hats for the kids...including the big table of kids going to prom. We had a great time and will definitely be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing German Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We have been there multiple times and had multiple entrees. The Jager Schnitzel is amazing! The cheese fondue is really good as well. I personal enjoy the shepherds pie and they have a great happy hour.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremerton, WA
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Big Portions, But Crowded And Noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

But then I guess that's what authentic German restaurants are like, right? Lots of beer, lots of grinning, happy people, lots of sausages, kraut, and schnitzel. Three of us all had the same thing...chicken schnitzel. It nearly covered the entire plate and was delicious and crispy fried and served with spaetzle (little egg noodles). The German beer selection is quite good, so that's what we all had. We were in Portland visiting my brother, so may end up there again sometime. Not a bad place if you don't mind the noise, tight quarters and little in the way of ambience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Gread beer, food and lots of fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We made reservations at the cavernous Rhinelander for Christmas Eve after I heard glowing reviews for the Thanksgiving meal that they serve. We got in early as the restaurant closes at 7 on the 24th. We were seated in kind of a side room/alcove off the main entrance, but could still see and hear the Christmas songs being played on an accordian with our server providing the singing. We were provided with great service with suggestions on beer, fondue, food and dessert. Included in our order was a feast that had a bit of everything. Each course was delicious as the three of us were able to share the generous portions. I cannot see this as a go to restaurant, but it would be great for visiting friends, group nights out or just the occasional night of fun. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rhinelander German Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Rhinelander German Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rhinelander German Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.